I'm Mad as a Wet

I’m Mad as a Wet Hornet in a Hen House Full of Shaved Cats!

There is a show on Animal Planet called Animal Precinct. Nothing gets me fired up and emotional quite like this show. I’m so mad right now, I could spit nails. Here is a brief synopsis of tonight’s show:

ASPCA investigates a case of alleged animal cruelty so large that the rescue involves the entire organization. At a breeder’s house in the Bronx, an undercover agent finds some 50 Wire Fox Terriers suffering from neglect and living in terrible conditions.

Yes, you read it right, they said 50, but the actual number was more like 54! Okay, so they remove 50+ dogs from one house. Sometimes 3 or 4 of the dogs were left in one crate. They likely had never been groomed. The poor things were covered in urine and fecies. Many of them had severe ear infections. They recovered electrical shock cattle prods and found wounds underneath the matted coats that may have matched the width of the cattle prod tongs. That isn’t the worst of it. One dog suffered from a spinal injury that caused his legs to be crippled. He had to be euthanized, since there wasn’t anything they could do for him. He lived a life in a cage crippled and in pain. He didn’t know love or affection and he died never really knowing love or affection.

This infuriates me. I love animals. I, of all people, could understand how someone could acquire more pets than appropriate. I have to really discipline myself not to take in every animal in need of a home. Regardless, I do discipline myself and I realize that I am at my limit if I intend to take care of and devote time and love to the animals I already have.

We probably have a dozen cats that wander our neighborhood. I can’t get near them; they are too wild. I keep seeing new kittens too. This pisses me off to no extent (pardon my language). They showed up about the same time some new neighbors moved in. I’m fairly certain, that our neighbors own the unneutered males that are breeding with the unspayed female alley cat. There isn’t a humane society or animal shelter in our city, so I’m not sure what to do. I’ve mentioned to my husband that I’ve considered sending out a letter to all my surrounding neighbors letting them know that they have exactly one week to take these cats into their homes, because traps(humane & non-lethal) will be set up in my yard and every cat caught will be taken to the nearest human society/animal shelter. I don’t know what else to do. For goodness sakes people…take care of your animals, feed them, love them, groom them and if you aren’t breeding intentionally, please have them spayed and neutered.

On a positive note, as of today (9/8/03) 37 of the Fox Terriers have been adopted into new homes.

Dedicated to my beautiful Taz-Cee girl:

1 Comment

  1. February 1, 2005 at 1:49 am

    Genocide gets me down. Always good for a sigh, maybe I’ll even sadly shake my head at man’s inhumanity to man. Same goes for more generic human rights violations common to the world’s many dictatorships. Such sadness. But you know, with all the madness in the world, with children starved to death on the streets in one dark corner of the world, torn to pieces for sport in another and sold into slavery and prostitution in yet another, with women forced to watch their husbands beheaded because they happen to go to a church the reigning power finds “too pointy,” even with all that, what *really* gets my ire up, what gets me so tremulous with rage that I post about it on the internet, is when someone has the unmitigated gall to hurt an animal. I mean, can you possibly get any more evil than that? AN ANIMAL, for god’s sake. How can you allow someone to hurt something that’s cute?


