Movie Review Time

Well we rented a couple of movies this weekend. Let me first say that I am a DVD snob. We rented one movie as a DVD, but the other wasn’t available as a DVD so we got it in VHS. After watching it on the vcr, I am even more a DVD snob than ever. I have many vhs movies, at least 50, but probably more. I’m finding the need to replace them with DVD’s. If only I had the money! Now on to the movie reviews for Seabiscuit and The Order. There might be spoilers. Don’t read further if you haven’t seen it and want to…

Seabiscuit was a good movie with a great story and happy ending. That being said, I don’t see what all the fuss was about. The first hour of the movie was unnecessary and quite frankly pissed me off. They spent about an hour getting you aquainted with all the major characters, but as far as you knew this could have been a movie with a few completely different storylines because you didn’t have any indication that the characters would cross paths until the 2nd hour of the movie. It was too long and it made my brain hurt. Once I got passed that and they started to fry up the meat of the story, I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed the characters and it is nice to see movie with a happy ending once in a while. I give it 3.5 fl0w3rs. I’d recommend it, but I don’t think it was as great as I was lead to believe.

As for The Order…well…it was interesting. It was just another run of the mill, catholic bashing, religious phenomena kind of movie. The story was okay. It had potential, but the actors all seemed to be either comotose or overacting. The production was shoddy. Maybe they were trying to be artistic with the camera angles, scenes, setting, color, wardrobe, etc. but in the end it was just a little boring. I’d give it 1.5 fl0w3r’s. Watch this one if it is free, you can’t find anything else, or if you are into boring, church bashing, stigmata movies.

