Movies & American Idol

The first three movies arrived and one is on its way back. You’ll have to hit remy up for a review though, cause it was an anime flick and I haven’t seen it yet. We started the 2nd movie, Adaptation, tonight. We only got about an hour through before Mike’s work alarm went off so I’ll let you know what I think tomorrow.

Now, for some American Idol input.

The first season was amazing with some really good talent. The 2nd season was pretty darn good, but you could see they were struggling a bit to find talent. Well, I suppose we can’t know for sure until we see the top 30, but right now, I’m thinking they are having a hell of a hard time finding talent. I love this show. I can’t wait until it is on again, but I think the show would be better if they allowed for enough time between shows to re-build the talent pool.

…and the judges! What has gotten into the judges? Are they too tired for this? What is with all the giggling? Maybe they aren’t tired, maybe I’m tired of them. I’ve always enjoyed (and admired) Simon’s honesty, but now he’s decided to plug his nose to squelch the laughter from escaping instead of being honest to these kids.

So far my favorites are Unchained Melody, Daddy’s Girl, Dean (Red) Martin, Paula’s Boy Toy, and Gracey May.

I think that’s it. We’ll see what next week brings us.

4 Comments

  1. remy the stampede said,

    January 22, 2004 at 1:06 am

    I don’t think they’ve let you see the real talent yet. I wouldn’t worry too much. This part is all about watching losers suffer.

    I personally disagree with you on your synopsis of last year. I think the talent was better last year than the first year. That being said, I do agree with your overall assessment that there should be more time between shows. If for no other reason than to keep from stealing their previous Idols’ thunder.

  2. Scott said,

    January 22, 2004 at 7:05 am

    Top 32…

  3. fl0w3r said,

    January 22, 2004 at 12:49 pm

    There were a couple really good singers last year, but the rest was “meh”. The first year there were more really good singers. I agree about yoinking the spotlight from the previous idols though.

  4. seger said,

    January 23, 2004 at 2:36 pm

    Actually this is the first year I have watched “Idol”. In fact it was just a couple nights ago they were in Houston TX. I can’t believe how rude Simon is..LOL..But like I said, it’s the first time I ever watched it!

    That said, I’m waiting for survivor to start after the superbowl!


