Uptown Girls – 3 fl0w3rs

This was a very cute movie. A good family flick with a touching story. Spoilers to follow:

If you saw the previews, you probably picked up the story, but here is a quick recap. Brittany Murphy plays Molly Gunn. Molly is the spoiled daughter (aka princess) of a rock star who?s been living off money left to her by her late parents. She is irresponsible and indulgent. She’s never worked a day in her life. She’s all about having fun with her friends. I got the impression she changed boyfriends as quickly as she changed her underwear. She loses the money and has to get a job. She ends up working as a nanny for the daughter (Dakota Fanning) of a record executive, Ray. She is 8 years old going on 40. Together they are quite the pair. An adult-child and a child-adult, and both have quite a bit to learn from eachother.

When I got past a few moral beefs I had with the movie (a child who never sees her Mom and when she does see her Mom, her Mom is being a slut-bag) I think it is a very cute movie with a happy ending. Dakota Fanning is a remarkable little actress too. I thought she was amazing in I Am Sam, but she did just as well in this adorable flick. Check it out. It is worth your time.

Memorable quote: “Every story has an end. But in life, every ending is just a new beginning.” ~Ray

Pending Movie Reviews: My First Mister and The Medallion

Next Movies On My List: Thirteen and Whale Rider

3 Comments

  1. otto said,

    February 10, 2004 at 6:56 am

    Very good review; good movie! I saw ‘I Am Sam’ too and I agree; she was equally good in both movies. I love coming here and reading your movie reviews!! Thanks! =)

  2. MMM said,

    February 10, 2004 at 8:06 am

    I loved this movie, I cried!!! Hey, did not see anything on My First Mister!!

  3. fl0w3r said,

    February 10, 2004 at 8:32 am

    My First Mister review is coming soon!


