My First Mister – 4 fl0w3rs

Have you heard of this movie? I hadn’t before my friend, Michele, said to get it and told me I’d love it. Brother was she right! This movie was like the best kept secret of 2001. It was an artistic presentation, but unlike your typical artsy movies, it had a great story. Spoiler to follow:

Jennifer aka “J” (Leelee Sobieski) is a total misfit punk. Complete with multiple piercings, tatoos, self mutilation and naked dolls hanging from the ceiling of her bedroom. She’s brimming over with teen angst and not a very likeable character. As she graduates from high school she’s in search of a job to get away from her family. She meets the prim and proper owner of a conservative clothing shop, Randall aka “R” (Albert Brooks). An exceptional friendship develops between this unlikely duo.

I like Sobieski. She did an excellent job in Deep Impact and she really pulled her weight in this movie. I’m sure part of it was the magic of make-up but I couldn’t see Sobieski (mini Helen Hunt), I only saw the scary, punk teeenager, “J”. She made me dislike her and then she turned the table and made me not only like her but care about her. As for “R”, I liked him from the start. The character development started in the beginning of this flick and didn’t stop until the end. I became so attached that I wanted another movie just to see what happened after it was all over.

Okay, folks this is a great show but it is NOT…I repeat…NOT a family movie. The reckless use of the “F” word, as well as some sexual content warrant the R-rating.

Memorable quote: “I would like to propose a toast to all the special ‘F’ words…
Friends…Family…Fate…Forgiveness…and Forever…” ~J

Pending Movie Reviews: The Medallion

Next Movies On My List: Thirteen and Whale Rider

6 Comments

  1. Michele said,

    February 11, 2004 at 8:11 am

    Nice job, written very well!

  2. remy the stampede said,

    February 11, 2004 at 11:29 am

    ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  3. Scott said,

    February 11, 2004 at 2:52 pm

    I love this movie. Picked it up a good while ago. How can you like this movie and not like ‘Lost in Translation’?
    No accounting for taste, I guess.

  4. remy the stampede said,

    February 13, 2004 at 1:41 am

    How can you like My First Mister and not like Lost in Translation?! What a stupid question… You might as well ask, “How can you enjoy a tasty piece of chocolate, but not like hammering a nail into your eyeball… No accounting for taste indeed…

  5. February 13, 2004 at 12:37 pm

    Oh my! Two Scotts. That will get confusing! 😉

  6. otto said,

    February 14, 2004 at 12:05 am

    Thanks for the review! I just added it to my list! I’m actually keeping one with me now so when I go to the video store I don’t have to rely on my memory! Happy Valentine’s Day to you and yours!!


