PB & Lips…All The Way!

So the first 8 contestants have gone through their American Idol auditions and votes will be cast. Let me just say I was wrong. I thought the talent wasn’t ready for another season of American Idol. I was very wrong. These kids really brought the talent to the table. I was impressed with almost all of them in one way or another. I wonder if the next 3 sets of auditions can keep up. It’s going to be tough. My performance synopsis:

Ordered by my favorite at the top and least favorite at the bottom.

Pink & Black (Diana DeGarmo) – Wow, sweet sixteen just got sweeter. She rocked the house and put on one hell of a show. She nailed the song and worked the audience. I was totally impressed.

Lips (Fantasia Barrino) – Dang, wish I had a shake like that and the lungs that went with it. She did an awesome job and I believe her “uniqueness” is going to take her far in this competition.

Sweetheart (Ashley Thomas) – I loved it, but I understand the judges point of view. I thought she took a great song and made it better. Patsy Cline can be coined as “safe” or “karaoke”, but SW didn’t sing it like that. She wasn’t in my top two but I’d like to see her again.

Starbright (Katie Webber) – This girl shines. Something about her just sparkles on the stage, but I don’t think this song choice gave her much opportunity to make her vocals light up. I wouldn’t mind to see her move on, but I believe there were a few others that did a much better job.

Smiling Dragon (Marque Lynch) – If only he could win this competition on his smile, he’d be in the top 10 for sure. His performance was good, but not great. His voice was good, but not great. The song wasn’t the best for him.

Tearjerker (Erskine Walcott) – Meh. The song was meh. The performance was meh. It was good, but not good enough. I do have to give him some major kudos for the upgraded look. Mucho better!

Mr. USA (Matthew Metzger) – I think this kid has potential, but I don’t think that showed through tonight. I thought his singing sucked and didn’t much care for his performance. Who know? Maybe he’ll get through on his average looks…

Naughty Nurse (Jennifer Hudson) – I hated it. I don’t like her voice. Her performance blew chunks. I didn’t even like the outfit. I did like the make-up and hair, but I don’t think that should win over America.

2 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    February 10, 2004 at 10:06 pm

    You and your nicknames. 😉

  2. brilly said,

    February 14, 2004 at 6:51 am

    I live in Australia and I’m looking forward to Sun night when I get to match the names to the faces !!

    Brilly 🙂


