Down With Love ? 3 fl0w3rs

The cult potential for this flick is phenomenally high. That doesn?t necessarily mean it is a great movie. Cult Movies have one common trait. They all go over the top. This movie is over the top, with an outrageous plot, outlandish costume and set design and ?in your face? over-acting. I enjoyed it but I didn?t realize that I enjoyed it until the end. Through out most of the movie, I just kept thinking this is too silly, this is too much. Then an extreme plot twist drove me to laughter and made it all worth it

“Down with Love” is a throwback to the comedies of the early 1960’s. This is a movie set in 1962, and filmed in vintage Day/Hudson style. A small-town girl, Barbara Novak (Renee Zellweger), goes to the big city to promote her book, “Down With Love”. DWL encourages 1960s women to become more independent, equal to men in the workplace and call the shots in the boudoir. Along the way she meets a cocky reporter, Catcher Block (Ewan McGregor), whom she quickly writes off as a jerk. But what she doesn’t know is that same womanizing jerk is pretending to be another “nicer guy” in order to write an expose on her.

I can?t say too much about the cast. I don?t think this script was meant to showcase talent. This show is about fun, not talent. I?m guessing the cast had a lot of fun making this one. It was fun to watch, the costumes were great and the set design was spectacular. All in all, if you are in the mood for a campy movie with a goofy storyline check this out but you could probably wait for it to come to cable.

Memorable quote: “So you’re a homosexual hopelessly in love with Catcher Block, that’s no reason the two of us can’t be married.” ~Vickie Hiller

Pending reviews: Pieces of April, Dracula 2000 and Dracula II Ascension

1 Comment

  1. Scott said,

    March 11, 2004 at 9:28 am

    I just love that movie. It makes me laugh and that’s a good thing.


