Dracula 2000 – 5 fl0w3rs

Okay, my 5-fl0w3r rating deserves some clarification. Out of all the movies, I have ever seen, I would probably give Dracula 2000 a 3.5 fl0w3r rating but out of all the vampire movies I have ever seen, this one takes the cake. The efficacious story provides so much more substance than any other vampire movie, I have seen. Wes Craven really gave this classic tale of seduction, Goth and horror a brand new twist.

It is 2000 in London and antiques dealer Abraham Van Helsing (Christopher Plummer) has a ?treasure? tucked away in his subterranean vault, or so he thinks. One of his employees, Solina, has arranged an inside theft job that is to be carried out by outsider Marcus and his team of thieves. The treasure is actually a coffin containing Dracula who has been contained within it for the past century or so. Certain that there must be riches and unable to open the coffin, the thieves take the coffin and run?after a couple of casualties. Van Helsing sets out to retrieve the vampire, telling his assistant, Simon (Johnny Lee Miller), to stay put and run the shop.

Meanwhile, in New Orleans, Mary (Justine Waddell) is a young record store employee who has been plagued by nightmares and bizarre dreams about Dracula ever since she was a child. Her roommate, Lucy (Collen Fitzpatrick), thinks Mary just needs a man in her life, but Mary truly believes she is going crazy.

Van Helsing arrives in New Orleans to save his daughter, Mary, and capture Dracula. Simon followed him to figure out what was going on. The thieves’ plane crashes not far away after the rejuvenated Dracula (Gerard Butler) has killed or turned the robbers into more vampires. Dracula seeks out Mary and she soon discovers the truth behind her dreams. From that point on, Van Helsing and Simon do what they can to stop Dracula and the many new vampires.

Okay, that sounds like a typical vampire movie, right? Here is the clever twist?Dracula is actual Judas Iscariot. His vampire curse is actually his eternal damnation and punishment for betraying Christ. Telling the story from this perspective makes vampire mythology fit together a little better. It also leaves just as many questions unanswered. A very novel twist that I do not think I have seen before. This movie has just the right amount of humor too. Some excellent one-liners?I never realized that British antique dealers were so cool.

Memorable quote (there are two that warrant repeating):
?Don’t !@#$ with an antiques dealer!? ~Simon Sheppard

Let me set this up. Simon grabs a cross to defend himself against one of the vampires. The vamp chuckles and snidely says, ?Sorry sport. I’m an atheist.? A dagger pops out of the base of the cross. Simon stabs the vamp and say, ?God loves you anyway.? Ha! That?s some good stuff.

Pending reviews – Dracula II Ascension, The Passion of Christ and Mona Lisa Smile

2 Comments

  1. March 18, 2004 at 6:49 am

    Oh my God… I can’t believe you liked this movie. Giving it ***** even… I caught this movie on television the other day I couldn’t believe what I was watching. And actually WATCHING it…

    I agree that as far as vampire movies go, there aren’t a whole lot of quality movies to choose from. Need I remind anyone of From Dusk Till Dawn with Tarentino and Clooney?! What the hell!?

    Blade (Better)
    Underworld (I had too high of hopes)
    Fright Night (Campy Classic)
    Bram Stoker’s Dracula (Classic retelling)
    Interview With A Vampire (Wonderfully elaborate)
    Queen Of The Damned (Disappointing but watchable)

    So for a twist on a story that was run into the ground eons ago, I give it credit for that. Yet, I had a hard time finding anything thing to make the movie stand out on it’s own and be remembered other than that.

    Unsolicited, but just my $.02

  2. fl0w3r said,

    March 18, 2004 at 11:18 pm

    I know I’m in the minority. When the movie was being reviewed, most critics agreed with you.


