Keep On Singin' My Song…


Part 1

If you had a theme song, what song would you pick?

“I Will Survive.”

Let’s see…Before I can remember, my parents went through their first divorce (Mom and Dad). I was molested at the age of 4. 2nd Divorce (Mom & Ex-Step Dad). I raised my little brother at the age of 9 when my Mom was a little too messed up to do it. My Mother decided to be gay when I was 11. I couldn’t handle it at the time so I went to live with my Dad. I endured brutal abuse at the hand of my ex-step-mother. When neither parent wanted me, I went to live with a legal guardian several states away. She was also physically abusive. When I was 13, legal guardian got pregnant and didn’t want a child that wasn’t hers anymore. I went back to my Mom. 3rd Divorce (Dad & Ex-Step Mom). My Mom was living with a woman who both hated me and was terrified of me. My Mother quit buying clothes for me until I lost weight. I was a size 16 through High School. Months before graduating, I was kicked out of the house because they suspected that I wouldn’t graduate. I moved in with my Dad who lived 1.5 hours from school and I did whatever I had to in order to finish with my diploma. At age 19 I met the person, I thought I’d spend my life with. At age 20 I had a miscarriage. At age 23, 1 month before our wedding, he told me he was gay.

Today, all that is behind me and I’m happily married to a wonderful and devistatingly handsome man that I will spend the rest of my life with. Still, I think “I Will Survive” fits…

3 Comments

  1. otto said,

    May 25, 2004 at 12:25 am

    Oh my….you have been through so much in your life. I’d say that song title does fit you. I’m so happy for you that you’re married to a man that loves you for you; God knows you deserve to be happy. You are a strong woman, wild fl0w3r!!! BTW, I hope for your sake you’re not going to get 20 hours overtime on a regular basis! Sometimes the money can’t make up for our sanity….take care, my friend! =)

  2. Andrea said,

    May 25, 2004 at 6:40 am

    Great song! It will now be stuck in my head all day! :paranoid:

  3. keli said,

    May 28, 2004 at 6:28 am

    Dear Jeni,

    {{{Jeni}}} You humble me— you really do.That husband of yours is mighty blessed. God bless you and keep both of you always.

    Love, Keli


