The Last Samurai – 5 fl0w3rs

I heard so many people rave about this flick, but the previews never really captivated my interest. I thought this wasn’t a movie I would enjoy. I was very wrong. I haven’t seen a movie that invoked so much emotion in a long time (perhaps since Glory). I wish I had seen this in the theater. I wish I had contributed to the ticket sales for this one. I’m glad that I decided to throw all the Oscar nominated films in my Netflix queue. If I hadn’t, this one probably wouldn’t have made it in there.

I’m not a fan of Tom Cruise and I think he did a good job but the real star of this show was Ken Watanabe. He was incredible. While I admit, I haven’t seen Mystic River, I can’t help but think the Oscar for best supporting actor should have gone to Watanabe.

Netflix synopsis:
Tom Cruise stars as Captain Nathan Algren in this epic movie set in 1870s Japan. Hired to instruct the country’s new army in the ways of modern warfare, Algren learns to respect the samurai and the honorable principles that rule them. Pressed to destroy their way of life in the name of modernization and open trade, Algren decides to become an ultimate warrior himself, to be loyal, selfless and true, and to fight for the samurai’s right to exist.

I’m not kidding folks…if you haven’t already, you really should see this.

1 Comment

  1. Daphne said,

    May 25, 2004 at 8:37 am

    Yes I like this katsumoto san! He was the one who stole the thunder from Tom Cruise. I loved the movie despite Tom Cruise’s overacting. LOL


