Big Fish – 4 fl0w3rs

The hubby and I got caught up on our current Netflix selections and among the group was Big Fish. We waited for weeks while this movie had a long wait in the queue due to popularity. I think it was worth the wait although I do have some mixed feeling on this one though.

It was a fun, brilliant and bizarre story. I was surprised to find that it moved kind of slow through some parts. With all the flash in strangeness, I expected it to move pretty quickly. Most of the acting was excellent, but I was very disappointed with Billy Crudup as Will Bloom. His character seemed lifeless to me. I realize given the story, we were supposed to dislike his character, but it wasn’t just that. I didn’t believe him more than I disliked him.

The other actors, especially Ewan McGregor, did an excellent job. I become increasingly impressed with McGregor each time I’ve seen him. He has spectacular range. As he continues to develop and mature, I think he will become one of the “greats”. Both Albert Finney and Jessica Lange did a remarkable job too. I believed their characters had an undying love that could weather all storms.

The movie was visually spectacular and worth seeing for the gorgeous and bizarre Tim Burton design.

Netflix Synopsis:
William Bloom (Billy Crudup) tries to learn more about his dying father, Edward (Albert Finney), by piecing together the facts out of the various fantastic tales and legends of epic proportions he’s been told over the years. Edward was a traveling salesman, and his journeys throughout the South are the seed of the tales. Directed by Tim Burton, the movie co-stars Ewan McGregor (as the young Edward), Helena Bonham-Carter and Steve Buscemi.

The virtue of the storyline threatened to disappoint us, as many modern movies do, but to our surprise it stayed true to the “Greatest Love of All” storyline. In the end the moral of the story was something very close to my own heart. We don’t pick our parents. They aren’t perfect, they make mistakes and we don’t always agree with them. We can either love them and accept them or beat our heads against walls trying to change/fix them. The first option is going to be the better option for most of us.

