We Interrupt These Memes For a Brief Rant

Over dinner, my husband informed me of something that absolutely infuriated me. A well-know editorial cartoonist, albeit lousy artist, said the following on his blog:

“How Sad…

…that Ronald Reagan didn’t die in prison, where he belonged for starting an illegal, laughably unjustifiable war against Grenada under false pretenses (the “besieged” medical students later said they were nothing of the sort) and funneling arms to hostages during Iran-Contra.

Oh, and 9/11? That was his. Osama bin Laden and his fellow Afghan “freedom fighters” got their funding, and nasty weapons, from Reagan.

A real piece of work, Reagan ruined the federal budget, trashed education, alienated our friends and allies and made us a laughing stock around the world.

Hmmmm…sounds familiar.

Anyway, I’m sure he’s turning crispy brown right about now.”


Well, you can bet there is no way in hell, I’m going to offer a link to this person’s blog. I know if I get any negative feedback on this post, it will be those claiming the freedom of speech argument.

I believe in freedom of speech. Really, I do, however, I believe in humanity more. You see, we should know better than to behave like Mr. Rall. We should have more respect than that. Now, I don’t really believe in “respect for the dead” because our earthly bodies are merely the shells we leave behind. I’m talking about respect for the family. There is a woman out there that has been taking care of her sick and senile husband. She stood beside him when he was well. She supported him. She doesn’t deserve this. The rest of the family doesn’t deserve this. Have some respect, Mr. Rall. Have some humanity, Mr. Rall or is benevolence beyond you?

2 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    June 10, 2004 at 8:55 am

    You should have seen Sean Hannity rip Ted Rall a new butthole the other night on Hannity & Colmes on Fox News. My heart was beating so fast because I was so upset by what this man has said. What a thoughtless, heartless, sorry excuse for a human being. I believe in free speech for sure, but he could have at least waiting until President Reagan was buried.

    This is just further proof of just how desperate and hopeless the loony left has become.

  2. mike said,

    June 11, 2004 at 1:23 am

    He’s a freakin’ loser, and a lousy artist.


