The Day of the Test

Well, I was a few days late. That isn’t anything unusual for me…I’m never on time, so I didn’t really want to jump the gun. This time was, however, a little different. I was feeling some things happpening that just don’t feel normal. I felt some twinges or tickles in my ovaries or uterus or somewhere in that general direction. My nails had been growing and that NEVER happens. Something about me just felt like this time might be different. So, I woke up on a Saturday morning and walked to Walgreens. I knew this trip well. Since we’ve were trying to get pregnant for over a year and we had been BBT charting for 5 months plus I’m rarely on time, I’ve purchased quite a few tests in the past year. I walked home, preparing myself for the usual negative response.

Mike works nights, so I did this all around 7 am, so I didn’t have to get him involved in the roller coaster again. The excitement of the possibility dashed by the repetitive negative result. So, I proceed to pee on the stick. I put the cap back on and I watch as the results start to make themselves known.

Almost immediately, I see it. I can’t believe my eyes. It can’t be right, can it? Has God answered my prayers?
test.jpg
Yes! Yes! There are two lines this time. A little plus sign instead of the usual minus sign. My hand starts to shake a little, I want to cry, but it is more like a few gasps with no tears. I can’t even explain what I’m feeling. The one thing I know for sure is that I’ve got to tell Mike. I can’t wait for him to wake up at 11 am.

So, I grab the stick and the paper that shows you what the test results mean. As I climb the stairs I’m screaming in a whisper…”Mike”…”Mike”….so I get around to my side of the bed and climb in next to him, whispering his name. Finally he wakes up. I put the stick and the paper in front of him and say, “I think we are pregnant.” I show him the results, he looks at it and says, “It looks like you are right.” I just lay down next to him and sob. This is one of the happiest moments of my life.

Later…

I spend the entire day surfing articles about pregnancy. There is a wealth of information out there. One of my most interesting finds is a Pregnancy Calendar. I tell it the date of conception and it tells me what is happening with me and my baby. Today it doesn’t say much. It just tells me the that I’m 4 weeks pregnant and my baby is in the 2nd week of gestation. That confused me for a while, but apparantly you are considered to be pregnant from your last menstration, not the date of conception. I think that I should be considered pregnant from conception on July 17, 2004.

