Terrific to Terrified in 3 Seconds

We had the hubby’s family (Mom, Dad, 2 Brothers, 1 Sister-In-Law and 1 Sister-In-Law-To-Be) over for a barbecue today. After some delicious chicken breasts, grilled vegetables and corn on the cob we let them in on our happy news. With one grand child living with them and 2 grand kids on the way, I figured they would be numb to it, but to our surprise they were extremely happy. My mother-in-law was in tears. I was tired, feeling icky and grumpy, but their happiness really gave me a little pick me up.

It was a delightful day. The night wasn’t quite so delightful….

I woke up at 1 am with bad cramping, so I went downstairs to the restroom. There was blood…very red blood. My heart sunk. I walked into the computer room and while getting clothes out of the closet, I told Mike that I think it is happening…I think we are losing the baby. I had so many flashbacks to the first miscarriage. Mike took me across the street to the ER. They took some blood and then we waited for an hour to be seen by the doctor. By the time we arrived the ER, the cramping stopped. I sat in there and waited. Finally, just before the doctor came in, I asked to use the restroom and noticed that the bleeding stopped. I wasn’t sure what to think or what was going on. I had spent the last hour in the ER, waiting and crying. Mike held my hand, but he was worried and tired.

So, the doc came in and did a quick exam. She said that there was still some “oozing” but my blood tests still said I was pregnant, so she couldn’t tell me definitively whether or not I was pregnant. She prescribed bed rest until Tuesday and I’d need to go in for more blood work and get in to see my OB/GYN right away.

1 Comment

  1. Firebrand said,

    September 7, 2004 at 7:25 am

    I remember that night long ago all too well, honey… I’m sooooo very glad that that didn’t happen again!! I love you and only wish the best for you that precious little one… **hugs**


