All A's on Sprout's Check-up

We went in for our monthly visit and we got to hear the baby’s heart beat for the very first time. It wasn’t easy, let me tell you! The doc would get it and Sprout would take off. The doc would get it again and Sprout would take off once again. The doc even said at one point with the slightest hint of frustration…”Your baby needs to learn to sit still.” She must have tired Sprout eventually and she was able to get a good read. 156 beats/minute, probably from all that activity. Doc said that was normal though. Anywhere between 120-160 beats/minute is good.

I’m anxious for the 11/19 visit. We get another ultrasound and we may be able to find out whether Sprout is a little boy or little girl!

Today on the the calendar it says:

Limb movements become coordinated and head is now erect. Eyes are now more forward, rather than to the side of head. Slow eye movements begin.

I was also reading on one of my newsletters that the baby is going to double in length and weight over the next couple of weeks. WOW!

I’m so glad we got in there. I’m not sure why or if it is normal, but I start to get these terrible feelings just before my next doctor’s visit. It is like I need the reassurance that everything is okay. If I don’t have that, then I start thinking the worst.

Now, I’m reassured again, so I’ve got a couple of weeks before I start panicking again. :grumble:

1 Comment

  1. otto said,

    October 20, 2004 at 10:54 pm

    I think that’s normal; having those fears….Isn’t it so exciting hearing the baby’s heartbeat?? And did you get to see the baby too? I am so happy for the two of you, fl0w3r!! Keep taking good care of yourself and everything will be just fine……. =)


