Today Is The Day

We have a doctor’s appointment in 4 hours. We hope to find out if we are having a little boy or girl. I can’t wait! I can’t believe, we are half-way there. It’s funny because looking back, it seems like it was just yesterday when I was running up those stair, scream-whispering for my husband to wake up and see the result of the home pregnancy test. On the other hand, looking forward, the birth still seems so far away. Heck, I could sware we’ve been waiting for 3 years just for today’s doctors appointment.

I haven’t been giving you many updates on development because it is all about growth from here on out. From what I’ve been reading, I can tell you that Sprout is about 10 inches from head to toe and weighs almost a pound. Funny how the baby is only a pound, yet I’ve gained almost 10 lbs. I’ve also read that 10 lbs is normal weight gain for this stage, but it is definitely hard to grasp for someone who has always struggled with her weight. I just feel fat.

It is bizarre, because I can recall being frustrated w/ pregnant friends who talked about feeling fat. I would think that they were beautiful and their bodies were doing something even more beautiful. I’ve often said that there isn’t anything more beautiful than a pregnant woman…but something changes when it happens to you. When your last pair of jeans quit fitting…it is frustrating and after years of conditioning it is hard not to feel bad about the weight gain. It takes a great deal of effort to remember why this is happening and that it isn’t a failure on my part.

Well, I suppose I better get to work, although I’m not sure how productive I can be when all I can think about is this afternoon’s appointment!

1 Comment

  1. Michele said,

    November 19, 2004 at 9:40 am

    :clap: Today is the day! Healthy baby girl, Healthy baby boy or both…..hee hee. Many hugs to you both. I too am going to the doc. Nope, no Mary preg. here, I got pink eye! YUCKO. Good luck today! :clap:


