Let The Whining Begin!

Okay…I can’t handle this anymore. I’ve tried my hardest not to complain. I didn’t want to complain when I want this baby more than anything and I feel truly blessed with this beautiful life growing inside me. That being said, I can’t help it. I must let the whining commence. Just keep in mind that I still feel very blessed and wouldn’t trade this experience for anything. I’m ready for it to be over though.

I’ve entered the 3rd trimester with a bang. I’m enormous and my body aches. My hips are spreading again, which is very painful. My back is killing me. I have elephantitis of the feet and cankles. I’m tired all the time. None of my shoes fit. I’m down to a rotation of about 6 outfits.

To top it all off, I’m now battling gestational diabetes for about a week now. I really thought I would be able to kick it by adjusting my diet, but apparently that isn’t going to be an option. The one and only time I was able to get my blood sugar down, all I had for lunch was a lettuce salad w/ low-cal dressing….meaning that I wasn’t getting anything of nutritional value for the baby and I. So, that means I’m going to have to start insulin. I see the doc today and I’m sure that is what he’ll prescribe. I’m not looking forward to it, but it needs to be done.

Little Gabriel isn’t even that little. We found out at last weeks appointment that he was already 5 lbs! The normal weight for 29 weeks is 3 lbs. Did you all read about that 17 lb gestational diabetes baby born in Brazil? Please, please, please…I’m begging…no 17 lb baby. I can handle 10…I’m even willing to try 11 lbs. No way in heck do I want to try and have a 17 lb baby. I know they would have to take a 17 lb baby c-section. I don’t want a c-section. I want natural childbirth and right now, I’m still saying no epidural.

OK, that officially ends my whining and complaining quota for the day.

3 Comments

  1. Michele said,

    January 27, 2005 at 8:46 pm

    Jen, I hope the doctor visit went well. I am sorry to hear about the struggles. Please be safe!!! Many hugs. I will miss seeing you this weekend!

  2. mike said,

    January 28, 2005 at 4:15 pm

    So… Would now be a bad time to mention that I’ve been thinking I might want another one?

  3. otto said,

    January 30, 2005 at 1:37 pm

    Hang in there, fl0w3r! Get lots of rest and keep your feet up….Baby Gabriel is absolutely gorgeous!! Take care. =)


