Here I Am…Still Pregnant!

Well, I haven’t popped yet. If you could see me, you’d realize how the phrase “ready to pop” really fits the occasion. I’m huge. I look at my body all of the time now, just watching for changes. I look at myself in the mirror each day and think, “Oh my goodness, I’m huge. I can’t get much bigger than this.” Then I see myself the next day and you guessed it…I’m even bigger.

I had a brief reprieve from the swelling. I even had ankles for about three days. This weekend, the ankles went away again. The swelling in my feet was terrible yesterday, but I still managed to get a lot done. OK, “a lot” is a subjective term. I’m just not able to move around a lot or for too long before the pressure in my lower body makes me want to cry. However, I managed to take long breaks between short stints of housework yesterday and it worked out pretty well. I’ve been wanting to get the baby stuff all organized and ready to go, but haven’t been feeling up to it since there were so many factors involved. The biggest factor being that the baby room is part of our bedroom and our bedroom tends to end up as a catch-all. Everything that we don’t want a cat to get into ends up in the bedroom. Now we have a lot of nooks & storage but it needs to be organized better.

So, I spent the day upstairs. I never got out of my pajamas and I hung out on the bed watching either Animal Precinct, Red Carpet shows or the Oscars and took advantage of commercial breaks to do some organizing & cleaning. I really made quite a bit of headway with that tactic and didn’t wear myself out too bad. Around 8 pm I hit a wall and just couldn’t do anything else. My body can only handle so much before the pain & pressure take over. I feel really good about what I did get done though!

2 Comments

  1. Michele said,

    February 28, 2005 at 11:52 am

    C’mon little Gabriel! Give your mom her body back! She would much rather be HOLDING you vs. HOLDING YOU IN. Drink lots of liquids, rest when you can, and just breath. It’s going to be over very very soon Jen. I went to Old Navy this weekend! Now that it’s getting closer I wanted to be prepared for my first hello with your little man! Be safe, I miss you and will check in closer to the 10th! LOL.:D

  2. maggie said,

    February 28, 2005 at 6:11 pm

    I’m telling ya it’s a pain in the butt to be pregnant I thought I was going to die the last few weeks with Alex. It makes me want to change my mind about having another one, come on I could’nt even walk up the few steps I had to get to the house. I think Tony wants a baby boy. His house is full of girls.I don’t think that 4th baby is gonna come to soon. Nina’s already asking for another one when she can’t keep her hands off Alex. Nano could care less. I know it’s hard but stay off your feet as much as you can. Now it’s just the waiting game. Or the doctors waiting game.


