What's Going On?

Well, here I sit at 2:30 in the morning and I’m unable to sleep. You see, the past few nights my son has been awake and very irritable around this time. Tonight he’s happy and quiet, but my body got used to being awake now. So, I struggled to try and sleep and gave up and decided it was an opportune time to sneak a quick update in here. Either way, I’m very happy that Gabriel is feeling better. I think he was battling a tummy ache accompanied by some very powerful gas.

In other news…proof that a baby changes the dynamics of a relationship. Mid-way through the day yesterday, while hubby and I were going about our usual parenting business…he says, “Oh…happy anniversary.” While we had briefly mentioned our anniversary the day before, we both virtually forgot about it. We alternate years with regards to how we celebrate. On my year, I seek dinner at some nice restaurant and possibly some other kind of entertainment that we don’t normally get to indulge in. Mike likes to order pizza and play video games. This year is Mike’s turn. Even though the actual date has slipped by without much celebration…I think Mike still deserves his night. I’m going to have to check with Grandma to see if she’d like to babysit sometime next week. Although, I seriously wonder if Mike and I can handle a night without Gabriel. I suspect we’d both be thinking and worrying about him all night.

3 Comments

  1. Cris said,

    April 2, 2005 at 6:59 pm

    Happy Aniversary!!

  2. otto said,

    April 3, 2005 at 5:06 pm

    I hope you enjoy your Anniversary celebration. I’m sure you’ll feel lost without Gabriel for an evening out….I won’t say any more; I had so many people telling us to go out and leave the baby with someone and I really had no desire to do that very often and my kid turned out fine!! They grow up so fast; enjoy the time with him while you can!! =)

  3. Firebrand said,

    April 3, 2005 at 10:37 pm

    Happy (Belated) Anniversary!!

    While I don’t have children, I’d think that it’d both be very hard to be away from your little one for the first time but also very beneficial to you. I believe that it’s very important to maintain your primary relationship with your spouse and that, by doing so, you only strengthen your relationship you’re building as a family.

    But, then, as I said…I have neither children nor a spouse yet, so do with that input what you will… Love you both! 🙂


Leave a Reply

