Got Milk?

Just thought I’d take some time to continue the ongoing breast feeding saga. My boy takes the breast just fine now. He’ll take either a bottle or the breast and does a great job on both. At his doctors appointment a couple of weeks ago, the doc was worried that he hadn’t made it back to his birth weight. He went from 8 lb 11 oz at birth to 7 lb 14 oz. Which is a little bit more weight loss than normal. Then at his last doctors appointment, he was only 8 lb 6 oz. The doc gave him a week to gain 5 oz and he did! So, when he decided within the last week to spend so much time spitting up his milk, I got concerned.

Well, the good news is that he’s still gaining weight and topped the scale at 9 lb 4 oz today. Which, I’m told, is right where he should be. Since he’s spitting up and on occasion spending several hours fussing and behaving like he’s very uncomfortable he might be lactose intolerant. Now, this doesn’t mean that I can’t breastfeed, but it does mean that I need to cut dairy out of my diet.

This is going to quite difficult…I’m not a big milk drinker, but I’m a cheese fanatic. Alas, it must be done.

2 Comments

  1. mike said,

    April 8, 2005 at 4:52 am

    I promise to support you. I’ll only eat ice cream when you’re not looking.

  2. Cris... said,

    April 8, 2005 at 8:47 am

    Wow! No cheese… I couldn’t do it. I’ve got 5 kinds of cheese in the fridge right now.

    Well, he’ll only breast feed for so long then you’re free to behold the power of cheese.


Leave a Reply

