We Survived

One day down and all three of us survived. The work-day was actually much easier than Sunday. Sunday, Mike and I took turns crying and I sobbed myself to sleep. This morning, I woke up with Gabriel at 4:30 am to feed him and from 5-6 am, I just held him in my arms and cried softly.

My job is extremely demanding, so there isn’t much time to lament. The only time I cried was when I was pumping. I was in a tiny room all alone with my thoughts. Fortunately for me, I only do that twice during the work day. The rest of the time I was pretty focused and trying hard to get back into the swing of things.

I think Mike struggled a little bit. It is a little tougher of a situation for him, since he works nights, he’s just not getting enough sleep. So, I guess the best description for him when I got home was “weary”. I think we might need to seek some assistance. He’s worried that we can’t afford assistance, but his health and sanity are more important than many of the frivolities that we enjoy on a daily basis…(Tivo upstairs, Replay TV downstairs, Digital Cable w/ movie channels, Netflix subscription, etc.) We just might need to make some cuts. Most of the time, Gabriel is a really good baby, but he does have colic moments. He will just cry (and sometimes scream) and nothing seems to fix it. That can be trying, especially when you are very tired to begin with.

Well, I’m off to bed, but before I go, I’d like to say thanks to Cris for the e-card, Mom R. for the nice post and everyone else who has wished us well and kept us in their thoughts. We are so fortunate to have a good support system.

1 Comment

  1. emm said,

    May 3, 2005 at 11:00 am

    Hey, I like your attitude….that you recognize you can cut back on other things to help pay for assistance if need be.

    I’m sure it wasn’t easy at all going back to work. Probably one of the hardest choices you’ve made. But I think the three of you will get through it just fine. There will be some kinks in the road, but your refreshing attitude toward it all and ability to roll with the punches will carry you and your family very far. I admire your strength.


Leave a Reply

