A Good Administrative Assistant

Those of us in the Admin. Assistant community know that the mark of a good assistant is creating and keeping a large but easy to read procedures manual. Back in June of 2002, I tried to start this project. A year later when I discovered that I would only be able to work on it for about 15 minutes every few months…I just assumed it would never get done. 🙄

While it still isn’t complete, I’ve been working diligently at getting it up to snuff. I’m probably close to the half-way mark at 55 pages and climbing. It is beautiful…complete with “printscreens” for different tasks. I’m really enjoying the process of building the manual and I’m so excited to get it done.

I’m guessing only another administrative assistant could understand how one could get joy from such a menial task. 😀

3 Comments

  1. mike said,

    June 9, 2005 at 2:04 pm

    What a geek:!:

  2. Cris said,

    June 10, 2005 at 9:36 am

    While I never have had to put together such a manual, I think I can understand the feeling.

    When I was working at the Hotline and keeping scores on all the counselors calls that I listened to I had this intricate Excel sheet that I could plug a score into and the rest of the chart would update current averages, graphs, etc. While someone who uses Excel all the time may think that this is small potatoes, there was something very cool about getting it all set up and have it work the way you want and look good doing it.

  3. Firebrand said,

    June 10, 2005 at 8:39 pm

    I get it! 🙂 I looooooove putting together manuals and such. If it didn’t involve being chainged to a desk all day, every day, I’d consider techical writing as a career.

    Yes, Mike, I’m a geek. 😆


Leave a Reply

