The House of Horror

Okay, now on to Saturday Night’s Dream:

No back history required for this one…it started with an old house. I somehow acquire a very old, but ginormous house. I don’t know if I bought it, inherited it, or what the deal was…but it was mine. It was a humungous 3 story home, but it was old and had been vacant for 25 years. It was filled with a lot of junk and in bad need of restoration.

I decided it was too beautiful a home not to try and fix-up, but I didn’t have any money, so I started doing the restoration myself. After I spend some time in the house, I started to notice strange things happening. I’d walk into a room to find my equipment had been moved to someplace else….or a door would slowly creak shut on me. They were all subtle things in the beginning.

It didn’t take long for the house to become threatening. As I was working, a tool would fly past my head and stick into the wall, just narrowly missing me. I wasn’t sure what to do. I was terrified, but I really wanted the house. I continued to work and continued to experience many scary and threatening things. Then I discovered a “friendly” situation in one of the 3rd floor bathrooms. There was a white curtain in the bathroom, that would take the shape of a woman. It would open and close the door for me whenever I was up there. I decided to try and talk to the woman and see if I could do something to stop the threats and peacefully live in the house.

As I was talking to the woman, the house started to shake and growl. Soon after the house-quake began, an unseen force pushed me out of the bathroom. I tried to resist, but it continued to shove me into another room. It would give me a push and knock me a few steps back. I’d try to lunge forward and then it would push me again. This continued until the force managed to push me out of a third story window. The house was on a steep hill. While I managed to survive the fall, I did roll down this hill before I was able to stand up.

I stood up and looked back at the house. It was still growling and shaking. All of the windows glowed like there was fire inside. Then the perspective changed and it was if I was looking through a camera at myself. As the camera pulled away, there was a bizarre effect…almost like a fish eye lense or some kind of distortion that I don’t know the name of. Then it focused in on me just as something shot out of the house…a nail or piece of wood or something and it shot me in the head. The last thing I saw was my eyes close as blood started to cover my eyes.

Then I woke up. It spooked me pretty bad at first. I had to go to the restroom and I was scared to leave the bed. I almost woke Mike up, so he could walk downstairs with me, but I didn’t. I managed to make it downstairs…take care of business and fall back asleep without a problem.

1 Comment

  1. Cris said,

    June 14, 2005 at 3:00 pm

    Ok.. Here’s my two cents. Sorry if this gets long winded. I’ll be brief.

    -Houses typically represent our inner selves. With such dreams, taking note of the furniture, doors, windows, paint etc. Discovering new rooms reprsenting new aspects of yourself.

    -Ghosts, specters, etc can be based on memories or real people (past or present). Typically just the general feeling or qualities of the people.

    While I agree that sometimes a dream is just a dream and nothing more, I do feel that we witness our mind working through various things at times.


Leave a Reply

