What's In A Dream?

I had some very bizarre and vivid dreams this past weekend. Bizarre and vivid dreams used to be very common for me, but lately, not so much. So these really stuck out in my head. Feel free to take a stab at some dream analysis, if that is your thing. I’m not sure I buy into dreams being anything more than just the brain working overtime in your sleep…but I’m not sure either that the brain doesn’t have something in mind during it’s long hours.

Friday Night’s Dream

First let me tell you a little bit about one of the main character’s in this dream. His name is Nardy and he was someone that I went to school with. He went by his middle name, Charles, for obvious reasons. He was one of the kids that got picked on …our school was a little tough. You had to be rich and gorgeous. If you weren’t, one of two things happened. You could peacefully exist in solitude and escape the wrath of the heartless teenagers. Or you could get picked on and riduculed. I, peacefully existed, while Nardy was the butt of many jokes.

I wasn’t one of the mean kids, although I was quite superficial. I chose to call him Nardy, because his name had meaning. He was named after a family member and I thought he should be proud. We shared a class and talked on occassion. At some point and time, he had a pretty big crush on me. This was when the superficial part of me kicked in. He was a super-nice guy, but he was a little awkward and nerdish in appearance. So, he was out of luck (or perhaps in luck, now that I think about it). I haven’t seen or talked to Nardy since I was about 17 years old.

Okay, enough with the history, I had a dream that I was in some kind of art class. Nardy came in and stood behind me. He was visibly upset by something and he explained the problem to me. I can’t recall what it was, but I do recall my response to him. I turned around and hugged him. I told him that I loved him and it would all be alright. I dried his tears, kissed his cheek and he left content. When I sat back down in my chair, another student across the table from me, asked me why I “gave that loser the time of day.”

Irritated, I told the student to mind her own business and that he was a wonderful person and I was lucky to have him.

I left art class and got into my car to go some place. Then it dawned on me that I was married to Mike and couldn’t love Nardy and I was completely confused. I was driving along, trying to figure out how anything happened. I couldn’t figure out how I ended up with Nardy and I couldn’t figure out why I was married to Mike. It was like my entire life was a blur and I was just dropped into this precarious position. That is when I woke up.

I thought it was the most bizarre that someone who really played a very insignificant role in my real life managed to show up in a dream 15 years later. The mind is a curious thing.

Stay tuned for Saturday night’s dream.

4 Comments

  1. Cris said,

    June 14, 2005 at 9:19 am

    Ok. I’ll reserve comments till I read what Saturday nights dream was about.

    What I will say is I love dream analysis. I wrote reports, gave speeches. That was a big thing for me in late high school/college. ANYWAY… If you are curious about your dreams, keep a journal of events (a blog?) and as you recall dreams journal them in as well. Since it’s your mind, you can draw whatever conclusions you want, but the comparision can be very introspective.

  2. Jenifer said,

    June 14, 2005 at 9:57 am

    As an FYI, Saturday’s dream was completely different.

  3. Firebrand said,

    June 14, 2005 at 4:17 pm

    Curious still even more… if this is the same person I’m thinking of, as a complete aside… he’s totally out of the closet now. Formely from like Texas or something, wasn’t he? Super sweet? Always willing to lend a hand…?

    We’ll talk… 🙂

  4. Jenifer said,

    June 14, 2005 at 10:00 pm

    Yah, he was from Texas. Do you still talk with him?


Leave a Reply

