My Baby Girl

Yes, you read that title right. This post is about my sweet, baby girl. Thirteen years ago, I was given a little Yorkshire Terrier, whose name was Chelsey May. I didn’t like the name Chelsey…for silly reasons (As a child I knew a mean, little girl named Chelsey). So, I changed her name to Taz-Cee Mae. Taz-Cee wasn’t quite a year old when I got her, but she was a very special pup.

She had been abused and was extremely timid. In fact, it took several days for me to get her to come out of her kennel. When she did come out it was only for quick moments and then she would go back in. When I finally gained her trust, she wouldn’t leave my heals. For thirteen years, she has followed me around ever since. We have to close her kennel during the day, while I’m at work. If we don’t she’ll just go in there and lay down. She won’t move until I get home.

She’s continued to be a little bit of a Nervous Nelly. When she wants to be picked up, she still gets scared, and will jump away when you try to grab her. She doesn’t like men and still has a hard time trusting Mike. If you step near her, she’ll yelp. If you make a loud noise, she’ll cower. All neurosis aside, she is a different dog. She is a happy dog. She needed me…and I needed her.

Growing up, I was given several pets, but fate wasn’t on our side. My first 3 dogs were killed when they were hit by cars. My first kitten died from illness before she ever got to be a cat. My next dog ran away. That all happened before I was 10 years old. My next dog hung himself on his on leash, when he got twisted up around our porch. I was 11 then. It wasn’t until I was a Junior in high school, did my Mom try and get another pet. By then, I was doing my own teenage thing, so he was really more my little Brother’s dog. He had better luck and only recently left this world after a very long life.

I bring this up, because when I got Taz-Cee, I was so worried that she would have the same fate at my previous pets. I didn’t know if I just wasn’t meant to have a pet. I love animals, so I really had a hard time with that concept. After gaining Taz-Cee’s trust and keeping her as my constant, little neurotic companion, she tested the curse of the past. About four years after I got Taz-Cee, I let her outside to do to the bathroom on the 4th of July. Remember how I said she was scared of loud noises? The fireworks in the neighborhood must have scared her and she took off. I remember that night so well. I scoured the neighborhood looking for her. No luck. I cried myself into hysterics that night. I sobbed and held her toys. I cried out loud, that “She didn’t have her cage…and she didn’t have her cookie monster…and she didn’t have her mom”. My heart broke…because I DIDN’T HAVE MY TAZ-CEE.

I had to work the following morning and my face was swollen like a Muppet from all the crying. I could barely open my eyes. I just knew that this was it. She was gone forever. Low and behold, I got a call that she was found, across town. Someone was sitting out on their porch and scared, she just ran up to them and jumped in their lap, shaking like a leaf. Fortunately they called her tag number into a local vet and the vet tracked me down. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so relieved. I had my baby girl back.

She gave me one other good scare too. This was just a few years ago. I let her outside to go to the bathroom. I was standing out on the porch watching her. But she caught sight of another animal across the street and bam, she was off like lightening. I screamed at her, but she couldn’t hear me, her animal instincts took over. Everything happened like it was slow motion. I saw her in the street and a car trying to stop, but it didn’t look like it was going to have enough time. I almost watched her go under the wheels of that car. Fortunately, the car was able to stop in time. She turned around and I picked her up. Furious and terrified, I took her right into the house, tossed her into her kennel, shut the door and cried.

Why do I bring this all up, you ask? The curse is lifted. But after thirteen years, she’s losing her sight rapidly. Her hearing is just about gone. She is still a happy dog, with good quality of life, but her mortality is becoming very apparent to me. Her time is short for this world. Some day in the not-so-distant future, I will have to say “farewell for now.” The really sad part is that my beautiful, little boy will probably never know my sweet, little girl.
Taz-Cee Girl

4 Comments

  1. Cris said,

    June 29, 2005 at 9:39 am

    Oh God! I was almost scared to open the rest of the post because I thought you were going to say TazCee died!

    I’d not heard how you got her before. Not any great detail anyway.

    She is and always will be the sweetest dog!

  2. Michele said,

    June 29, 2005 at 11:43 am

    I could not even swallow. I too had thought the worst. She is truly a little sweetheart. Just give her love each day.

  3. Scott said,

    June 29, 2005 at 1:12 pm

    Gah! I too thought she was gone. 😥 That aside, beautiful thoughts on a beautiful dog. No matter how stinky her farts get. 😉

  4. Firebrand said,

    June 29, 2005 at 3:06 pm

    Alrighty…I’ve got tears in my eyes now! After just seeing her this past weekend, I was so glad that the “more” didn’t reveal anything more heartbreaking…

    She’s always been a wonderful dog, honey…while I know you’ll mourn her loss the most, I do believe that we’ll all miss her… she’s such a sweet dog!

    If you haven’t already read it, here’s something that you might appreciate…

    Love you!


Leave a Reply

