Punkie's Healthy & All Is Well

Well, Gabe (aka Punkie, Gabey-Pie, Punkie-Pie, Gabey Baby, My Little Man, Gabex0r…and the list goes on) had his 4-month check up today. He’s doing great. He passed all of his motor skill/strength tests with flying colors. He got 4 pokes with some fairly long needles. I wasn’t there for his last set of immunizations, so I was surprised to see such long needles go into my son. It didn’t make me very happy, and Gabe really didn’t like it much. Poor baby. 😥 Thankfully, he doesn’t have to do that again for 2 more months and then he will only get two sticks.

We found out that in an effort to meet the “recommended feeding guidelines” we’ve probably been underfeeding him. While he weighed in a whopping 17 lbs and 2 oz. he dropped a little in the percentile (from 97% to 85%). Not enough of a drop to worry though, he’s still a healthy boy. In fact the doctor said that he’s the size of many of his 9 month old patients. So, he probably needs a little more than the recommended portions. We’ve been underfeeding him for a good reason though. He spits up a lot. The doc informed us that he has mild reflux. That is why he spits up so much. Plus he spits up, if he lets out a big laugh…another sign of reflux.

So, we’ve got a few things to try to help us get him enough food and keep the reflux under control. We are going to start feeding him baby cereal. I’m excited and a little sad about that. He’s growing up so fast. I love being able to hold him in my arms. I love the noises that he makes while he’s working on his bottle. While I’m sure that I’ll enjoy the faces he makes, the messes he makes, and the fun involved with spoon feeding…it seems like this is the beginning of the end of an era. I just can’t help but get a little choked up. But I digress. Cereal is our first option to fix the problem, we also have a different formula to try, if cereal doesn’t fix the problem. The last measure for us to take would be to medicate him. I really don’t want to do that, but I don’t want him to have reflux pain either. So, let’s hope that the first two options take care of it.

Our Little Man is turning into a little person right before our very eyes. It is wonderful and a little heartbreaking all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

