A Little Perspective

I’ve heard many complaining about the current price of gas. Our family is feeling the additional strain on our pocket book because of the gas prices. We will need to limit our trips to visit family in Nebraska and Missourri because of this. We may need to cut out other luxuries too. It would be easy for me to complain about the current cost of gasoline and I must admit…I have.

Now, I look at some national news stories. Let me give you some sound bites from a recent article:

The first of nearly 25,000 refugees being sheltered at the New Orleans Superdome began to arrive in Houston, Texas, Thursday. But that process ground to a halt after shots were fired at the helicopter over the Superdome before daybreak, according to an ambulance official overseeing the operation.

He said medics were calling him and crying for help because they were so scared of people with guns at the Superdome.

While listening to my favorite morning radio host, he put a little perspective on the situation.

Imagine you are taking refuge in the superdome with your family. Just trying to keep your children safe and this is going on around you. Not only have you lost your home, your belongings, life as you knew it, but you are crammed into a refuge with the other families…but also gangsters, drug dealers and other criminals.

It makes the gas hike seem a little more tolerable.

1 Comment

  1. Michele said,

    September 2, 2005 at 9:01 am

    😦 I can’t count the number of times I have complained about the new house or gas or moving AGAIN. I have a house, I have a job, my son is safe, my car runs, I feel good, I have food, I am clean, I know where my family and friends are, I know I am safe, I am dry …and yet I complain.


Leave a Reply

