Something Needs To Change

Last week, I was watching on of the 24-Hour news stations on the television. I listened just long enough to hear a live report listing the number of murders and rapes that had occurred in the New Orleans Superdome over the past couple of days. I do not recall the exact numbers; I want to say they reported three murders and six rapes to have occurred in a 24-hour time span. Regardless, I was appalled by the statistics and hugely disappointed in humankind.

Disappointed is not even the right word…I was pissed off. It infuriated me that during a time like this, I turned on the news to hear about the dreadful acts of violence when I should be hearing about the way we are uniting as a country to help. I should be hearing stories about how the people of New Orleans are helping their neighbors. I should be hearing about how people are rising to the occasion in the face of a monumental tragedy. Instead, I was hearing about murderers, rapists, snipers, looters and other villainous deviants.

I ranted to my husband about my complete and utter disgust. Today he sends me a very interesting link to this UK article. Now just a couple of weeks ago, I ranted to Mike about how the media does not have to report the facts anymore. Do you remember the “flushing of the Quran” incident? If this article is accurate then this is another sad example of the route journalism has taken. I should be able to trust the news, shouldn’t I? If I cannot, how in the hell am I ever supposed to know what is going on in our nation…in our world? I understand that we are human and therefore news will usually be presented with a bias…but I should be able to trust the FACTS, right?

You could use facts to prove anything that’s even remotely true! — Homer Simpson

That quote was meant to be comedy…now, I’m not so sure.

2 Comments

  1. Cris said,

    September 7, 2005 at 9:07 am

    I agree that we should be able to trust the news. I always hope that is the case. Unfortunately, I believe the news programs (even the 24-hour CNNs of the world) have to compete with regular programming as well. The trauma of humanity gets better ratings than the uplifting stories. With print media news, I don’t know what they have to compete with other than… well, other print media news sources. Bloggers, maybe?

    The Interwebs are crazy with everyone doing their own form of reporting. While I read my Yahoo news and MSNBC I also like to check out what atypical news sources are saying as well. Hell, I’ll ask Mike WTF is going on sometimes. Can I claim him as a news source? 🙂

  2. mike said,

    September 7, 2005 at 10:11 am

    Cris is right, they’re competing for ratings, and tragedy sells. And, Cris, Matt Drudge is who they’re competing with.


Leave a Reply

