Nason

The past week one of our cats hasn’t been well. She was lethargic, bloated and she wouldn’t eat. Nate doesn’t miss meals, so “not eating” was a big red flag. We took her to the vet on Thursday and she put up a good fight. Nate is our fiesty cat and has taken chunks from the veterinary staff in the past. The doc thought that a cat with her energy couldn’t be too sick. He suggested we isolate her, to see how much she’s eating, drinking and how much is coming out.

Well after being isolated, we saw that she was drinking and urinating, but not eating or having bowel movements. So, we called the vet today and they said we shouldn’t wait and should take her to a clinic. Mike took her in and I stayed home with Gabe. After a while, I got a call from Mike that said they were going to X-ray her, so they could be another hour or so. I asked him if the doctor made any speculations and with a tear-choked voice, he said it isn’t good. Her abdomen was full of fluid and there were a few different things to cause this…none are good.

I asked him if he needed me there and he choked out a “no.” At this point, I let him go, because I don’t think he could have told me much more. I spent the next several minutes pacing the house until the phone rang. It was my friend, Michele. She was supposed to come over for dinner tonight, but she wasn’t going to make it. Which worked out well, because we aren’t really up for company. I explained the situation with Nate and she asked if I as all right and I said, I just wanted to be there with Mike. She told me to pack up Gabe and go. It didn’t take much coaxing…I couldn’t have stayed in the house much longer.

When I saw Mike, his eyes were red and his cheeks were tear-stained. I knew it wasn’t good, but I needed to find out what exactly was happening. The doctor filled me in. The prognosis:

  • She could be having kidney or pancreatic failure. They could treat her and put her on a special diet and that could buy us 6 months to a year.
  • She could have cancer. In which case they could do exploratory surgery to find out if it is treatable, but that isn’t recommended for a cat her age. We would probaby have to put her down.
  • Finally, she could have a rare and highly contagious disease. I think he called it F.I.P. I believe this prognosis would also require us to put her to sleep and hopefully she hasn’t infected the other cats in the house. The doc didn’t think this was probable…it was more likely one of the other scenarios.
  • So, there you have it. Not a pretty picture. Out of these options, we’d really like another year, so keep us in your prayers.

    Nate

    5 Comments

    1. October 8, 2005 at 6:41 pm

      I know how much your pets mean to you both. Nate’s in my thoughts! 😦

    2. Firebrand said,

      October 9, 2005 at 12:29 am

      So sorry to hear this… If it helps any, my Barley Corn man (who’s now like 15 years old) had lost a lot of weight a few years back (from 15 lbs to 10 lbs), so I took him in. I was in tears like you both, too, when they layed out options very much like you’ve listed.

      Fortunately, I’ve had him for like 3 additional years now (and hopefully for at least a few more!) thanks to a simple treatment of giving him meds a few times a day and putting him on better food. It’s never fun to give cats meds, but when it makes ’em better and they still have quality to their lives, it’s all worth it.

      I will definitely say a little prayer that you have more time with him! *hugs*

    3. Scott said,

      October 9, 2005 at 8:07 am

      😥 You know there’s a special place in my heart just for her. 😥

    4. Tracy said,

      October 9, 2005 at 11:42 pm

      Awwwww….we’ll send Nate some good, kitty-healin’ energy. Poor thing.

      Hugs to you guys…I know how tough all this is.

    5. Michele said,

      October 11, 2005 at 7:40 am

      😦 Mike and Jen – I am thinking of you both and Nate. Please either keep the website posted or call me with any changes. Hugs to you both!


    Leave a Reply

