Screamapiller

Attention all parents:

Gabe has recently started screaming his fool head off instead of going to sleep. It is crazy. He is visibly tired…complete with massive eye rubbing and everything. Yet, when we try to put him down…WHAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We try to rock him…WHAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last night, we put him down in his play yard and just let him scream. He cried and cried at the top of his lungs for a good 45 minutes, before he finally fell asleep. Even then, he woke up a couple of times a few minutes after to let out a few cries before he finally went down for good. Now, I know many say that you are supposed to let your baby cry sometimes. In fact, I believe it is good not to jump at their every whim. He was changed and fed…so I think he was probably doing a little testing to see if he could get what he wanted. I know this, but it was still so hard to listen to him cry like that. Right after Mike questioned whether we should do something and I said that we should let him keep going…I wanted to pick him up SO BAD.

He did eventually fall asleep and he slept pretty well the rest of the night. Therefore, in the end, I think it was the right thing to do. My question for other parents…is this a normal phase? What do you think…coddle or cry?

3 Comments

  1. mike said,

    October 18, 2005 at 1:33 am

    SPANK:!:

  2. otto said,

    October 18, 2005 at 6:51 am

    That’s a hard one; I can’t say let him cry because I didn’t do that with my daughter. I know what they say about babies ‘testing’ us but I just had a very hard time hearing her cry and not giving in and picking her up. Everyone’s got advice and I’m sure you’ll get plenty of it; bottom line is, do what you’re comfortable with. Sorry I wasn’t much help.

    And what an adorable boy!! =)

  3. Nana said,

    October 19, 2005 at 8:14 am

    I’m sure Mike let you know what we did with his younger brothers, they were in our bed, all but one quit by the time they started school, time does fly


Leave a Reply

