The Evil Green Squeezy Thing

Poor Gabey is sick. He was up a good portion of the night crying inconsolably. The bottle…rocking…holding…singing…nothing worked. We knew he wasn’t feeling well because lost his lunch and didn’t eat very much of his dinner yesterday. Finally around midnight, he zonked out. Then at 4:00 am this morning, he woke up and he was all full of snot. I have no idea how the poor kid was breathing.

In fact it sounded like he was having an awful time breathing. He was immediately subjected to Green Squeezy Torture. Up until now, I have only had to suck out the occasional boogie. So, he was kind of fascinated by the Green Squeezy Thing. Now, it is different. I suctioned him for quite a while this morning before I got him cleaned up. Then I had to suction a few more times before I went to work. His tolerance was 50/50. Sometimes he was fine and sometimes I was ticking him off to an immense degree.

Well, his Dad has since informed me that he gets irritable at the sight of the Green Squeezy Thing. Poor kid. I’ll sure be glad when he can blow his nose…but I’ll be even more glad when he’s feeling better. Seeing him under the weather breaks my heart. I had such a horrible time forcing myself to leave for work today. I know he’s in good hands. I know his Dad will take good care of him, but I just wanted to keep holding him. I just wanted to stay by his side. Leaving the house today was almost as hard as when I went back after maternity leave…or you know I could just be overly emotional due to sleep deprivation…

3 Comments

  1. mike said,

    November 9, 2005 at 3:17 pm

    If you thought the bulb by itself was bad… Now the doc wants us to shoot saline up his nose and then suction it out… 😮

  2. Michele said,

    November 9, 2005 at 5:03 pm

    😯 OMG I had to do that a few times! Have fun – yikes. Sorry Gabe is not feeling well, hope the rest of the household holds up!!

  3. Cris said,

    November 10, 2005 at 10:02 am

    Poor Gabey. 😦

    To be so young and not really understand what’s going on and why Mom & Dad are doing what they’re doing.

    You guys are doing great. 🙂


Leave a Reply

