Christmas Miracles

It has been a while since I wrote one of my sappy posts, but I can resist no longer. This Christmas, the miracles of the past remind me of the miracles of the present.

“Fear Not,” said the angel, “For I bring you tidings of great joy. For unto you is born this day in Bethlehem – a Saviour who is Christ the Lord.”

“And this shall be a sign unto you. You shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes and lying in a manger.”

Suddenly the sky was filled with angels, praising God and saying, “Glory to God in the Highest, and on Earth peace, good will toward men.”

A child born unto a virgin, in a cold animal stable. A miracle pregnancy followed by a birth that defied the odds. Joseph cleaned the stable as best as possible, but you know it was far from a sterile environment…there were no doctors. Upon the birth of Jesus, the infant was laid in a food trough. Can you imagine? A beautiful baby boy was born and the angels danced in the skies.

I’m so thankful. I’m thankful that Christ was born, he lived, he taught, he suffered, he died and he arose, all so that I could be saved. I wasn’t a follower of Christ for many years. I didn’t grow up with the bible and I didn’t “get it”. I knew that there was something bigger than us all…but I didn’t know what it was. Just a short few years ago, I didn’t get it.

I’ve told the story a million times….I don’t really need to tell it again. In short, my body was broken but my husband had enough faith for both of us. It wasn’t until I had my angel, my Gabriel, growing inside of me that my faith blossomed. I knew that he was a miracle. Every day as he grew inside of me, as he developed, I thanked the Lord, Jesus Christ for this gift….for this miracle.

I recently visited the doctors office where they took an ultrasound of my ovaries. The doctor looked a little shocked and said, you must have been trying for quite a while to get pregnant. It was true…but I must say that the look on his face confirmed it. We were blessed. As I saw my ovaries and how they were covered in little black spots. Each spot was a cyst. Each cyst was caused by the release of a group of eggs. The eggs attached themselves because there were too many to travel and eventually turned into cysts. The doctor said, if you want another child you better do it now, because you don’t have much time, if any. Yet, several years ago, I was told that I’d never get pregnant without very costly medical intervention. While I’m not ready for another child, if it is meant to happen sometime in the future, I have faith that it will, regardless of the challenges that my body presents.

I got pregnant against all of the odds. I gave birth one month early and I was extremely ill. So ill, that I couldn’t even hold my child for over 24 hours after he was born. He was placed into the NICU with all of these tiny and fragile babies. Yet there he was healthy, strong and big. I got pregnant against the odds. I delivered in less than ideal circumstances. This Christmas I get to share it with my wonderful husband and my beautiful gift of life, Gabe.

Buz, Buz, Buzzy. Bee Buzzy Buzzy...

I certainly can’t compare my situation to that of Mary and our Lord, but I can’t help but be reminded of the wonderful blessings of Christ.

Merry Christmas everyone!

3 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    December 22, 2005 at 11:58 pm

    MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

  2. Cris said,

    December 23, 2005 at 9:46 am

    Okay Dangit… Now you’ve got me crying. 😥

    Beautiful!

    Merry Christmas!!

  3. Michele said,

    December 23, 2005 at 1:30 pm

    😥 Me too, pass the Kleenex, Chris!


Leave a Reply

