Christmas with the Roberts

Our Christmas celebration with my half of the family came and went today. Jen worked tirelessly throughout the morning and into the afternoon getting everything ready. She prepared a fantastic meal, some of which I imagine I’ll be carrying with me for an indeterminate period of time… But let’s not go into that now.

The kids scored plenty of swag. Gabriel walked away with a cartwheeling Tigger, a “See ‘n Say”, he got a nifty little animal puzzle, a book of kids’ Bible stories, a very cuddly stuffed dog, and some cool wind up cars (from which Jenifer, I, and our cats also received much enjoyment). He still has gifts under the tree to open Christmas morning.

I made out pretty well this year too. After having been gifted a Playstation2 by Scott, my family filled in the missing items necessary for me to play Soul Calibur 3. Something I’ve been waiting to do for some time. That is, of course, only a trivial fraction of the blessings I’m able to count. If I were in a more articulate frame of mind, and not in a food induced state of drowsiness, I’d list them all. Suffice to say, I have a wonderful, loving, generous family. I don’t deserve them, and they don’t deserve to be saddled with me.

Two of my brothers couldn’t be with us today. Their presence is the only thing that could have improved the experience. We had fun, but you guys were missed, Ryan and Nathan. I look forward to future Christmases where we can all be together again.

1 Comment

  1. Nana said,

    December 26, 2005 at 8:10 pm

    It was a very nice dinner, Jenifer did a wonderful job, all the food was perfect! Getting together with family is the best of all presents! Hopefully next year Ryan and Nathan will be able to join us all, then all will be perfect!


Leave a Reply

