Daunting Project

Did you ever start something that seemed like a fairly small project and before you knew it, it was a huge undertaking?

In a week, my mother is going to be moving in for a few months. She needs to pay down some debt and her current rental house is a very old house that is taking her to the poor-house each month when the utility bills arrive. Her house is pretty small, but she’s shelling out more than we do and we have an average-sized old house. She was going to find a small apartment and Mike suggested that she move in with us….pay us rent but much less than if she got an apartment and we could pay down some debt as well. Truth be told, we could really use the extra income too. So, we decided to plan for a six month stay and in June/July, we will all sit down and review the situation and decide whether it is time to part or if more time is needed.

I know what many of you are thinking. Honestly, I’d probably think the same thing if it were someone else. I’m not afraid to confront my mom, if needed. OK, who am I kidding? I’m not afraid to confront anyone. So, if it isn’t working out, or something needs to be handled differently, I will be able to take charge of the situation.

Now that all that is said, we are currently working on making room. It was something that didn’t seem quite so major…move some stuff around and voila! Then as we started moving stuff, something else would pop up and we’d realize that we needed to find a home for something else…or something else needs organized. For example, she’s going to be rooming upstairs…so we’ve been focusing our efforts there. Then tonight it dawned on us that she’s using our basement for storage, so we are going to need to do some organizing and cleaning down there. That alone is a somewhat daunting task…then add to the mix that we’ve been relocating stuff from the upper level to the basement. As we sat back and reviewed the progress, and the game plan we realized that some of that stuff that we’ve relocated to the basement might be better stored back upstairs in our the built-in storage closets.

So, wish us luck that we actually get this all done by this weekend, when the men’s ministry at our church is moving her in!

3 Comments

  1. Firebrand said,

    January 2, 2006 at 7:09 am

    Oh, honey, I know ALL about those daunting projects! I have my own looming scarily behind me as I think of all of the crap, er, stuff that I need to decide what to do with in order to make room for my daughter and all of the baby things that one needs. I don’t honestly know where to start!

    I wish you all of the luck in the world and, for my part, I’ll be relieving you of some of those things so you don’t have to store them. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!! 😛

  2. Cris said,

    January 2, 2006 at 2:23 pm

    That’s wonderful that you are able to mutally help each other out.

    You guys are so great!

  3. Jenifer said,

    January 2, 2006 at 4:57 pm

    The great part was that it was Mike’s suggestion. How many son-in-law’s would come up with that? If I had thought of it, I never would have asked Mike since I wouldn’t want to put him in that position. I’m grateful that he was kind enough to think of the idea and make the suggestion.


Leave a Reply

