Beautiful Boy

I’ve been crying off and on all day long and I feel very silly about it. But you see, tomorrow is the end of an era. Tomorrow my beautiful, baby boy turns one year old. I realize this is just the first of many moments that I will be experiencing and getting emotional about. This is his first birthday. Someday, I’m going to send him off to school. Someday, I’ll hear about his first girlfriend. Someday, I’ll take pictures of his first prom. Someday, I may send him off to college. Someday, I may attend his wedding. Someday, I may hold his child in my arms. I know that I’ll put on a good show, but when no one is looking, I will cry.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m looking forward to these moments, even though they will make me emotional. He is my little miracle and every day, every moment, every second is to be cherished. Yet as I type through tears, I wish he could be my little baby for a few more days.

May I take a moment to reflect?














I’m sure I can’t say it enough, but thank you, Lord for this wonderful and perfect gift. I’m blessed, truly blessed.

Close your eyes, have no fear
The monster’s gone, he’s on the run, and your daddy’s here

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful, beautiful boy
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful, beautiful boy

Before you go to sleep, say a little prayer
Every day in every way it’s getting better and better

Out on the ocean sailing away
I can hardly wait to see you come of age
But I guess we’ll both just have to be patient
‘Cause it’s a long way to go, a hard row to hoe
Yes it’s a long way to go but in the meantime

Before you cross the street, take my hand
Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans

Before you go to sleep, say a little prayer
Every day in every way it’s getting better and better

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful, beautiful boy
Darling, darling, darling, darling Gabe

4 Comments

  1. Cris... said,

    March 4, 2006 at 1:47 pm

    Aaaaand here come the tears of my own…

    Happy Birthday Little Man!!

  2. Scott said,

    March 5, 2006 at 8:43 am

    He shares a birthday with one of my assistant managers. If the Academy Awards stay on the same type of schedule, he may end up thinking they honor his birthday. I thought the same thing of the Applejack Festival in Nebraska City. 😉

    With that said, that year went by FAST! Sheesh.

    Sunrise… Sunset…

  3. Michele said,

    March 7, 2006 at 1:18 pm

    :mrgreen: Amazing that little boy has been here a year. It goes so fast. Love him with all that you have and know that you are so very blessed. You both are wonderful parents Jen and Mike!

  4. March 6, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    […] A year goes by: I’ve been crying off and on all day long and I feel very silly about it. But you see, tomorrow is the end of an era. Tomorrow my beautiful, baby boy turns one year old.  Click here for full post. […]


Leave a Reply

