15 Months…

We just wrapped up Gabe’s 15-month check-up. Can you believe it? He’s 15 months old. I swear some time just vanished while I wasn’t looking. Here is the recap. He’s in the 97th percentile for his height, at 33.5 inches. He’s so tall. I see him standing next to children at church and he’s easily as tall as some 3 and 4 year olds. He’s in the 75th percentile for weight and head circumfrence. He wieghed in at 26 lbs and 12 oz. I truly thought he had to be heavier than that. He sure feels heavier than that!

Overall he’s on target with all of the stuff that most 15-months olds are doing, like standing, walking, drinking from a cup,etc. However, he isn’t saying words yet. Plus they asked if he is able to walk backward. I have no idea, I haven’t noticed, but honestly I don’t think I would have recorded it to memory if I did see it. I guess I’ll watch for it now. When they asked if he was speaking 3 or more words…I darn near asked if “baboom”, “gogogo” and “ooooh” counted. He says “Baboom” all the time. I know it must mean something to him, but I have no idea what it could be. My Mom, of course, thinks he’s saying Grandma when he says “baboom”. They sound so much alike. 🙄 🙂

The doctor also pointed out that we need to be considering, if we haven’t all ready, legal guardianship and a will. We haven’t given it a great deal of thought, but we should. The guardianship is a difficult thing to tackle. In a perfect world, we would like a married couple close to our age with our values and of course they would need to be good with children. That is where we run into a bit of a problem. We don’t know anyone that fits that description. We have some other good options, but why does that seem like such an awkward thing to ask someone to do? You know, it puts the individuals in a situation where they feel obligated to say “yes”. I remember the feeling. Mike and I were asked to be guardians for my nephew. I remember feeling honored but then the “Oh crap, I barely know this kid” feelings kicked in. None-the-less we better get this situation handled, because I need to know that my son will be in the best situation possible, if something were to happen to Mike and I. Wow, I really hate thinking about that.

Enough of that!

1 Comment

  1. Michele said,

    June 8, 2006 at 7:26 am

    😐 Man oh man, that little one is getting to look like such a little boy now instead of a baby! He is just so handsome! And the hat! OMG. He just turns you both to mush when he smiles, yes? 😛


Leave a Reply

