Father's Day

Happy Father’s Day

I have fantastic parents. The older I get, the more people I meet with stories of their own parents, the more I realize just how spectacular my parents are. Great parents seem to be a rarity.

Of course today, I’m going to focus on Dad. Part of what makes my Dad so noteworthy is he didn’t have to be my Dad. He didn’t have any obligation. He chose to be my Dad. I wasn’t the primary factor in his choice, I know, but I had to be a significant consideration. He’s been my Dad for so long, that I have very few memories of my life without him in it.

I don’t think I appreciated either of my parents as much as I should have growing up, but I think it’s especially true of my Dad. My appreciation has grown so much since I became an adult. It bothers me now that I didn’t take advantage of the time I had at home with him.

Dad didn’t teach me to play football. He would have, but I wasn’t interested. He took me fishing a few times at a local pond. I enjoyed it for a time, but lost my taste for it quickly after a fish swallowed a hook and removing it was… unpleasant. Dad did much of the cooking at our home. But he didn’t teach me to cook. Dad’s a fantastic artist. I like to draw. I can remember him sketching some shapes onto a sheet of paper and telling me how to properly proportion a super hero’s anatomy. Some of it stuck. When I sketch the outline of a human head, I can remember Dad telling me how to position the eyes and the nose. But that’s about all that stuck. I wish I could have inherited some of his natural artistic ability. He really is amazing.

Still, I learned a lot from my Dad. Not things he sat down to teach me, necessarily. In fact, I think I could count the number of lectures he gave me on one hand and with fingers to spare. I learned from my Dad by watching him be the man he is.

I’ve recently come to a place in my life where I’ve begun to rediscover my faith. I hadn’t lost it by any means, but I never learned it for myself. I believed what my Dad believed because he taught me. And again, I can’t remember how I picked it up. He didn’t sit down with me to instruct me, but I still picked it up. I’m constantly impressed the more I learn for myself the more it verifies what Dad taught me.

After my faith, the most important thing I’ve now learned from Dad is that I’m always teaching my son. Always. Every moment Gabriel is awake and in my presence, he’s learning. He’s learning my behavior and my demeanor. Just like I learned from my father.

My genes don’t come from Dad. What I got from him was a role model. And if I can pass that along to my son… that’s an inheritance to be proud of.
My Dad wth my son.

