Ahhh, the sweet life

It is going to be so hard to go back to work. I love being at home. I love taking care of my son, cleaning the house, buying the groceries, cooking dinner…you know…all that housewifey stuff. I don’t mind working. I’m a very hard worker and I’ve almost always put my heart into my jobs, but I really love being a housewife. As Mike said, I run a tight ship. I spent my first week of unemployment relaxing. I spent my second week deep cleaning the house. Then I assigned every adult in the house their own rooms to pick-up daily and clean once a week. Now, the house is staying fairly clean…barring the fact that I’ve got a one-year old running around and messing things up quicker than any human could pick up after.

I think Gabe is really enjoying it too. He’s really become a Mommy’s boy in a very short time. Our hearts will break when this all comes to an end…but let’s cross that bridge when we get to it. For now, my husband is rested, my house is pretty clean, I get to spend quality time reading “The Little Red Hen” to Gabe about a dozen times a day. In short, my life is wonderful.
more
We had a great weekend too. Saturday, our friend Scott came into town for dinner and a show. We had a fabulous dinner at The Olive Garden and we saw Ragtime at the Omaha Community Playhouse. The show was incredible. The cast was fabulous. The leading man and woman in the show had the most amazing voices. There were so many times when I had chills and goosebumps. I’ve always been amazed at how well the OCP can put on a show. Sure, I’ve seen a flop or two…but more often than not, I leave amazed. This was no exception. This was truly a production that was so much larger than this community theater. I’ve never had the luxury of seeing a Broadway production, but this could have been on any Tony Awards show that I’ve watched.

On Sunday, we went to church and then we spent the day with Mike’s Brother and Sister-In-Law, Nate and Rachel. It was a wonderful day. We went out for lunch, although most of us had breakfast. We spent about an hour talking about the Bible and sharing beliefs and asking questions. It was extremely enjoyable. We kept turning our waitress away because we hadn’t even cracked open the menu. Amazingly, Gabe was incredibly well behaved. We actually had to cease our discussions temporarily just to decide what we wanted because we were afraid that Gabe’s temperament wouldn’t hold out much longer. He was really patient and it was so nice to have that conversation with peers and family. Nate and Rachel came back to our place and we spent an appreciable amount of time on the patio conversing and enjoying the beautiful weather. Then we came inside for dinner and some SCIII. A lovely day to wrap up a lovely weekend.

2 Comments

  1. Michele said,

    June 28, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    šŸ˜„ OMG FINALLY a NEW post! Off to read it now, but I had to give you some static first!

  2. Michele said,

    June 28, 2006 at 3:39 pm

    šŸ™‚ Good post Jen. Some days I really miss my friend so reading about what is going on with the family helps. Thanks a ton.


Leave a Reply

