Parents, What Would You Do?

So, tell me what you think about this…

Officials: Dad kills neighbor accused of molesting girl

…and what should the penalty be for the father that stabbed the alleged molester?

Warning: Graphic detail of molestation to follow:

This really makes me think. My innocence was stolen at the age of four. I don’t remember everything, but there are some things that I remember very clearly. I remember that it always took place in the basement of my babysitters home. The perpetrator was her 17 year old son. I remember being behind a pool table on the floor. I remember being completely unclothed in a fold out sofa-bed. I remember the strong smell of cat urine and feces in the basement. I remember wondering what I was supposed to do with the fluid in my mouth following oral sex. I assumed it was urine, because I just didn’t know better. I remember being shown a sink in the laundry area, when I asked what I was supposed to do and being told that I could either swallow it or spit it into that sink. I remember being threatened after each time that if I told anyone that they would think I was bad and that I would get in trouble…so it would be our secret.

Thankfully, I don’t really remember any of the actual acts occurring. The mind is a curious thing. I can speak of it candidly and with a certain level of disconnect, because what is done, is done. It is the past and I cannot change it. Yet when I think about the same thing happening to my son, tears well up in my eyes and I can actually feel my blood start to boil.

I need to be here to take care of my son…that is THE ONLY thing that would stop me from killing someone that molested my son. I can tell you with no uncertainty that I would want to kill anyone that harmed my child intentionally.

After watching the Glenn Beck TV show, Mark Klaas, who is the father of a child who was kidnapped, raped and murdered, made an excellent point. The real problem is that we have convicted sex-offenders, some with multiple convictions walking among us. Therefore, we cannot feel that the judicial system is going to keep our children safe and we need to take matters in our own hands. Yet, if we do that, we would likely be imprisoned much longer than the people who victimize our children, thus we are unable to protect them. It is a horrible situation, no matter how you look at it.

The solution: ALL CONVICTED CHILD MOLESTERS need to be in prison for life with NO CHANCE FOR PAROLE. It is as simple as that.

I’m grateful for the Adam Walsh Act and Jessica’s Law, but this is just the beginning. We need to take this very seriously folks…for the sake of our children.

So, tell me..what would you do, if it were your child? What should the consequence be for this vigilante Dad who took matters into his own hands? What do we need to do, going forward, to keep our children safe?

12 Comments

  1. Nana said,

    September 1, 2006 at 4:16 pm

    I personally think he should not get any prison time at all, a plea of temperary insanity should be ok, when it comes to our children most sane parents would literally want to kill the guilty person. That’s my opinion

  2. Firebrand said,

    September 4, 2006 at 3:48 pm

    Since having Abby particularly, I’ve always said that I’d want to kill anyone who ever did something like this to her (or anything to hurt her!). I totally see your point, though…if I did that, I wouldn’t be able to protect her long-term…and I don’t like that option either.

    I do have to wonder if they’ll use a guilty by reason of insanity plea, though. He sounds like he just snapped!

  3. randy said,

    September 5, 2006 at 5:15 pm

    ok let’s Play the Using the predator’s as scape goat’s
    I blame the parents How about a bit of supervision, people? I get called over-protective, but I know what my kid is doing at any given time and he is a 19 year old and it’s always been that way and it always will be that way I don’t care if he is 155 years old that’s my job as a responsible parent . To the best of my understanding, that’s all part of the “parent” job I thought becoming an adult meant taking responsibility for your own actions?. We should hold the parents responsible for endangering their own children by not doing simple common-sense things like locking the door and windows or holding their hand in a mall and it would be a good idea not to let them roam around town by their selves.We should Put these “bad parents” in jail for years for endangering a child and contributing to the crime.and this latest one where a lawyer killed a man for allegedly molesting his 2 year old. I want to ask a question where was these “bad parents” when this man allegedly molested this 2 year old. I guess it doesn’t matter when the Media and these “bad parents” are looking for a scapegoat and of course the key ingredients of this scapegoating campaign are sex and children. Time to face reality You don’t need a village to raise a child You need responsible parents and the government to mind their own bizwacks when it comes to raising children.

  4. mike said,

    September 6, 2006 at 12:33 pm

    I couldn’t agree with Randy more. If you don’t lock your doors, and some pervert touches your kid, it’s certainly not the fault of the pervert. The parents should be locked away forever. Maybe while they’re being jail-raped they’ll realize how foolish they were to think they might be safe in their own home.

  5. randy said,

    September 7, 2006 at 11:10 am

    IS THAT ALL YOU GOT ❓

  6. mike said,

    September 7, 2006 at 5:41 pm

    How long have you been molesting children, Randy?

  7. Jenifer said,

    September 7, 2006 at 8:57 pm

    Really Randy, your comment is quite ignorant. To make a blanket statement assuming that all children who have been molested have negligent parents is just asinine. Even if a parent is negligent, it is still the perpetrator that is truly guilty. I don’t care who you are, or what the situation might be, it is NEVER acceptable to molest a child. There are no excuses. I have to wonder if Mike is on to something. You seem to be very defensive…is there a reason?

  8. randy said,

    September 8, 2006 at 9:21 am

    Mike I suggest that you attend some behavioral courses at your local university, college or jr. college!

  9. Cris said,

    September 8, 2006 at 9:34 am

    Randy, I suggest you attend a rape, molestation, and abuse survivors meeting at a local YMCA, YWCA, or local hospital. Talk to some of the people that have had such a traumatic experience and then tell me who is to blame.

  10. mike said,

    September 8, 2006 at 11:26 am

    I’ll tell you what, I’ll go if you start getting treatment for that pedophilia problem.

  11. randy said,

    September 8, 2006 at 11:36 am

    It is the parents” job” and “responsibility” to protect their children 24-7 no matter what it takes. the parents are not living life for them self’s, thay gave up that right when they had that child. there can’t be no greater lost than losing a child I see these “bad parents” on TV. after their child has been murdered and I wonder how they can go on living when they have failed to protect their child, I know I couldn’t. It is time for parents to start protecting their children the right way.It is not the governments responsibility to protect their children.The fact is, you have been “conditioned” (some people call it brainwashed I call it you are stupid by the Media and these “bad parents”. Look on my post above and at the simple common-sense things that wasn’t done by these TV “bad parents”.
    Our societies values is like a runaway train with no brakes. and I’m not making excuses for any body or any thing not even you in your “condition” (some people call it brainwashed I call it you are stupid . If any thing you and other people like you are hurting your cause more then any one. and All you are doing is repeating history by hammering on predators. Don’t believe me ? Look back in history, The words you are speaking today are the same words that was spooking in the past about a group of People. this group where called Child Molesters persecuted, ridacuted and put to shame and even imprisoned before we where even a country. People felt that this group amoral and now they feel that it’s ok. I’m going to give you a hint this group that prefer the Ark that Ned Flanders built, with 2 male animals of each species so nothing “improper” would happen… Until he blurts out:”Hey you too, cut that out!” If you don’t get it by now then you will never get it.

    You say You seem to be very defensive…is there a reason?
    Answer “conditioned” stupid people
    and talk about defensive when you where reading my post you where so defensive you faild to read and comprehend it because you missed several parts of it one I have already pointed out above maybe you got that one. One of the others that you didn’t get because you where so defensive is they contributing to the “crime”
    I ask you a question where was these “bad parents” when this man allegedly molested this 2 year old.

    may be they where too busy watching another inane sitcom or perhaps another sports extravaganza.That is provided they weren’t doped up or too drunk to do the “parents job” and “responsibility” to protect their children

  12. mike said,

    September 8, 2006 at 11:54 am

    No. We get what you’re saying Randy. We comprehend it fully. It’s just patently stupid.


