Crikey, Mate.

I happened to wake up in the middle of the night, when my husband gave me the news about Steve Irwin. I can recall situations in the past where someone famous died and I’ve been around people that were really broken up about it. I didn’t really get it. I’d think, “You didn’t know them. You just knew of them.” Today, I can eat my words.

You see, I go through television bursts. I had a burst where I was totally into HGTV and watched decorating shows day and night. I had a burst where I could spend all day watching various documentaries about famous figure-heads and Hollywood stars. I think my first burst was the “Animal Planet Burst”. I watched it all…from Emergency Room Vets to America’s Funniest Animals. My favorite was the Croc Hunter. I got Mike into it too. Steve was just so full of passion. I remember telling Mike how awesome it must be to love your job that much. Steve had to wake up every day anxious to start his day’s work. How many of us can say that about our work? He was so exciting to watch and he let you in to his life. We watched his relationship develop with his wife, Terri. We saw her through her pregnancies. We watched his children come into their lives. I sobbed when his dog, Sui, died from cancer. I’ve got to admit, I felt like I knew him.

He died doing what he loved and I’m certain that he lived his life to the fullest. Yet, my heart breaks for Terri and their two children. Even though my “Animal Planet Burst” has been gone for a while…I still tune in when I’m looking for something to watch and Croc Hunter is showing. I’m sad that I won’t be able to continue tuning in to his exciting, educational and passionate program. I can honestly say that I will miss this man that I’ve never met but feel like I know.

I believe that education is all about being excited about something. Seeing passion and enthusiasm helps push an educational message.
~Steve Irwin~

Where I live if someone gives you a hug it’s from the heart.
~Steve Irwin~

Big hugs to you, Mate.

1 Comment

  1. Scott said,

    September 20, 2006 at 1:34 am

    (I’ve been waiting patiently for a “Happy Birthday Love of my Life” post, but haven’t seen one… So I decided that I would create my own. I had to go back 3 years for it! Last year there was no mention. Two years ago, it was a simple “Happy Birthday, Baby.” So I updated the 3 year old post… here we go!)

    —–

    Just wanted to take a moment to wish my wonderful husband a very happy birthday. You see, I have an especially good reason to celebrate. 32 years ago today, the man, who has brought me so much joy to me in our short time together, was born. 32 years ago today, the man, that I will spend the rest of my life loving, was born. 32 years ago today, was a great day in the life of Jenifer. Special thanks to his parents and God for bringing me such a wonderful gift.

    I love you!

    – Original post by fl0w3r 2003.


Leave a Reply

