Life Is Good

I’ve been having a rough time lately. I’m a little overwhelmed with the transition back to work. Mainly because I really got bitten by the housewife bug during my time off. Now that I’m back at work, I don’t want to have a trashy house, nor do I want to feed my family fast food every night. Yet, it is difficult to do otherwise. Gabe gets up around 6 AM. From 6-6:30 AM I try to wake up, drink my coffee while Gabe has his chocolate milk. From 6:30-7:00 AM I’m trying to get ready, while entertaining my son. At 7:00 AM, I make our breakfast and at 7:20 AM, I wake up Mike and then I’m out the door by 7:30 AM. From 8:00 AM to 5:00/5:30 PM I’m working and rarely taking a break. I get home and heat up dinner (I’ve been preparing our weekly dinners on the weekend). If Gabe and I are lucky, Mike will join us for dinner before going straight to bed. After dinner, it is time for Gabe’s bath. He needs to be in the bath by 7:00 PM or he gets too sleepy and grumpy to bathe. Then at 7:30 PM he has his evening chocolate milk. At 8:00 PM we watch Little Einsteins and at 8:30 PM I take Gabe to Bed. If I can manage, I try and get a load of laundry and a load of dishes done before jumping in the shower and getting to bed around 10:30 PM. If Mike wakes up before 9:00 PM, I typically put any housework on hold to hang with him until he has to leave. So bedtime can be closer to 11:00/11:30 PM.

Then on the weekend, I’m catching up the laundry and cooking our meals. I typically have to use that time to catch up on Avon too.

To top it off, this weekend I’ve been sick with a really bad cold. I’m aching, coughing, tired and my nose aches from all the blowing. So this weekend has been particularly tough. Yet today, I made myself clean up so I could join my husband and son for lunch with my brother-in-law and his lovely bride. I’m glad I did, because they are a joy to be around and a real pick-me-up. However, the icing on the cake…we decided to take Gabe to the park after lunch. He’s been slowly getting more brave at the park. Our first couple of visits were no fun at all. He was scared and didn’t want anything to do with any of the park equipment. The last time I took him, he was a little more courageous and actually had fun. He would climb just a few of the steps of the big jungle gym/slide apparatus.

Well today, he was ready to take it on. He climbed all the way up to the top and willingly took the slide with his Daddy. He did that a few times before he was ready to take the slide on his own. For the first time in my life, I caught my beautiful son in my arms as he smiled all the way down that yellow park slide. It was wonderful. I tear up just thinking about it. I’m sure I was still tired and sick…but for that brief moment in time, I really didn’t feel it. I only felt the joy that comes with being a mother…the joy that comes from seeing that little boy grow-up…the joy that comes with seeing that wonderful smile on his sweet little face.

I’m so glad we went to the park today. I remembered how wonderful my life is. I remembered why I’m more tired these days. I remembered why I don’t want to feed my child fast food every day. I remembered why I don’t see my husband as often as I’d like. I remembered that I was given a gift…a miracle. I am a Mom and I wouldn’t change a thing.

1 Comment

  1. Cris said,

    October 3, 2006 at 10:53 am

    The whole slide thing had me tearing up. That is such a sweet moment. 😥 Definitely a moment to remember.


Leave a Reply

