Just Wanted You to Know That I'm OK


Yesterday was a very tough day. I think it is probably safe to say it was one of the worst days of my life. I’m sure I don’t need to spend a lot of time telling you how much I loved her, as I elaborated on so many posts in the past:

My old girl got a hair cut.Gabe_112005_9_FSleepy Taz-Cee

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! – 11/27/03
My Dog Runs From Her Butt! – 08/09/04
Seeing Red – 05/07/05
My Baby Girl – 06/29/05
A Prayer for My Pup – 07/19/06
Man’s Best Friend – 10/14/06

My old girl hasn’t been able to sleep with me since she’s been blind, deaf and more frail because she would fall off the bed and potentially hurt herself. So, Friday night I pulled the mattress off our bed and drug it into the living room. After Gabey went to sleep, I pulled Taz-Cee onto the matress and cuddled her until she fell asleep. Then Taz-Cee, Gabe and I slept on the living room floor. I let her enjoy one of her last two bones on Friday and the next on Saturday morning. I left the matress in the living room for us to cuddle on throughout the morning on Saturday. At 12:30 PM, we left for the Veterinarian clinic. I held her close all the way there. Then we had some waiting time in an examination room until the vet came in to see us. We put her down on the floor because she was sick of being held. She seemed happier than Mike and I have seen her in a while. She wagged her little tail whenever she found us. Mike would make kiss noises and she’d jump into the air a little bit toward him. I’m very glad to know that she got some extra attention in the last hours of her life and that in the last minutes of her life she was a happy girl.

Taz-Cee GirlGabe & Taz-CeeMy Sweet Baby Girl

She went to sleep so fast, I wished I had just a few more minutes…but if I had a few more minutes, I’m sure I still would have wished for more. We brought her home with us and buried her in the back yard. I wanted her close to me, so I asked Mike to put her right off the patio outside of the back door. I will mark her grave with some flowers in the spring. I love her more than most people and I miss her more than anyone could possibly imagine.

2 Comments

  1. Michele said,

    October 23, 2006 at 7:24 am

    😦 I am so sorry for your loss of baby girl hon. It’s so hard doing something good for the sake of loved ones sometimes. She was such a sweetheart and loved you so much. Hugs my friend.

  2. Firebrand said,

    October 24, 2006 at 5:08 am

    Many hugs, my dear…I know she will always be with you in spirit. I know she’ll be waiting for you at the Rainbow Bridge…


Leave a Reply

