I'm Handing Over My Mommy Card

So, I’m getting ready for work this morning. It was pretty much like any other morning until I had to make a work related call around 7:30 AM. I left the bathroom and went into the kitchen. A couple minutes later, I hear Gabe wailing. I run to find him in the bathroom, putting my curling iron back onto the bathroom counter. He was sobbing uncontrollably and holding his left hand against his chest. I knew right away what happened and my heart was in my throat. I grabbed him and tried to look but he wouldn’t let me see anything. I held him for about an hour while he cried the most horrible and heartbreaking cry I’ve ever heard.

It is horrible when your child gets hurt. It is 10 times more horrible when it is your fault. I sobbed while I held him. I always close the bathroom door or the nearby baby gate when my curling iron is on…always. Somehow, this morning, I must have forgot and I’ve got to tell you, I’m prepared to throw away the curling iron for good.

Gabe is OK, he’s got some nasty looking blisters, but they don’t seem to bother him anymore. He’s back to his normal, happy self and he doesn’t appear to be favoring his hand anymore. I guess that is all good…but I’m still really upset that it happened at all. I see the blisters and my heart breaks all over again. I’m typing this post and my eyes are full of tears as I remember his cries this morning. If I never hear that cry again, it will be too soon.

😥

3 Comments

  1. Daisyhead said,

    December 20, 2006 at 10:09 pm

    You are only human and accidents happen to the best of us. Once when Bubby was around 3 months, I left him propped up in the arm chair in the living room. The little bugger picked that particular day to start moving around and he fell to the ground on his head and shoulder. I felt AWFUL. He was okay and I learned a lesson and he’s still okay.

    Don’t beat yourself up over this. Gabe will be okay and he’s lucky to have such a caring Mommy like you!

  2. Michele said,

    December 21, 2006 at 8:14 am

    🙂 It’s OK hon. It happens to every single mom. They can jump off the bed, drink a bottle of shampoo, eat a bar of soap (way before we are putting in their mouths!) and more. Give yourself a hug, it’s OK. You are a good mama, just human. 😆

  3. Cris said,

    December 21, 2006 at 12:11 pm

    😦
    Echoing the senitments alreayd expressed… you’re human. Accidents will happen.
    You are a great Mom!


Leave a Reply

