Sprout 2.0

So, you’ve seen the picture of our new addition. Yes, I am pregnant. It is very early, only 7- weeks, but we decided to go ahead and share the news. The doctor is being cautious since I have a history of 1st trimester complications. So, keep us in your prayers. Both Mike and I feel pretty good about the pregnancy, but a few extra prayers never hurt anyone.

I really just want to say something here for all of those women out there that have been diagnosed with PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome). I was just reading a pregnancy forum and so many women were asking the same question. “I’ve been diagnosed with PCOS. Can I still have children?” You know, when I was in my early 20’s, I saw a doc and inquired about my acne, overactive hair growth on my face and thinning hair on my head. The doc said that these were common symptoms of PCOS and she checked my hormone levels. They came back and confirmed that I had PCOS which basically caused my female hormones to be a tad low and testosterone to be high. In specific, it is caused by cysts on my ovaries. Even more specific, the cysts are cause by the release of eggs from my ovaries. Typically a woman releases one egg from one ovary or both ovaries monthly. My ovaries have a tendancy to release a cluster of eggs at one time, which get stuck and turn into cysts. So, there are a few issues with regard to child-bearing. I’m not spending my eggs correctly and will likely run out of them before the average woman. My female hormones are low…which can make a pregancy difficult to “stick”.

The interesting part of this story is that when I was first diagnosed, I was told I probably wouldn’t have children without drastic medical intervention OR fertility drugs. These are options that I didn’t feel comfortable with. There was a time when I felt the same thing that I read so many women writing on the pregnancy forums. I felt broken and incomplete. Then along came my miracle…my Gabriel.

The interesting thing here is that the doc did an ultrasound of my ovaries after Gabe was born. He basically said, my chances of concieving again were low and if I wanted to even consider it, I should have done it right away. Gabe was just a baby, though. The timing wasn’t right. I saw my ovaries in the ultrasound. The organ was a light grey color and the cysts were dark. I’ve got to tell you that I couldn’t see very much organ there at all. It was covered in cysts. After seeing it, I really didn’t doubt the doctor.

Yet here I am, pregnant with our 2nd child. We’ve been blessed with two miracles. So, if you happen to stumble across our blog, when you are googling PCOS…let me just tell you that the doctors don’t always know. It might take more time than the average person, it might take more effort, but I’m proof that it CAN happen and it CAN happen twice. 😉

2 Comments

  1. Tracy said,

    March 21, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Congratulations!! Now you get to prepare Gabe to be “The Big Brother”. All I ask is that you teach him NOT to hit his younger sibling, and to occasionally let his younger sibling watch the shows THEY want to watch.

    (Spoken by the baby of the family with two big brothers!)

  2. Daisyhead said,

    March 30, 2007 at 9:20 am

    Congratulations!!!!


Leave a Reply

