Cleaning Up Shop

A productive weekend makes me happy! I spent several hours in our finished attic getting things cleaned up and reorganized. Since we will have a new member in the family, we needed to clean some things up to make room. We also need to get Gabey in his “big boy” bed. We have these adorable little built-in bunks in the attic, but the mattresses that came with the house were in bad shape, so we through them out a few years ago. So, we need to get a new twin mattress and a guard rail. Although really, the guard rail will just be there to keep him in bed. The bunks are only about a foot off the ground, so the fall wouldn’t hurt him. I’m kind of excited to move him into a new bed, although a little nervous too. The hardest part is going to be keeping him in bed. Any suggestions from seasoned pros are welcome.

I have a doctor’s appointment scheduled for tomorrow. I hope they do another ultrasound. The pictures always put my mind at ease, although really, I’m not too worried. Everything has pretty much felt the same as last time, with the exception of fatigue. I’m not nearly as fatigued as I was the first time around. I was exhausted the entire pregnancy with Gabriel. I had to take mid-day naps and could barely do anything in the evenings after I got home from work. I hope my energy level stays up. I really can’t afford too much downtime with Gabey occupying my evenings.

2 Comments

  1. Tracy said,

    March 27, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    What always worked for us is very similar to Supernanny’s “stay in bed” technique if you’ve ever seen that. First of all – standard bedtime process, which you probably already have, but the toothbrushing, and story time, a regular time every night where you follow the same “winding down” plan. Then, put ‘em in bed, and tell them night night – and at Gabe’s age, I’d still give him a nightlight most likely – but put him in bed and go away. And if he cries, let him cry – if he comes out, tell him no, it’s time to sleep, and put him back in bed. Subsequent escapes – same thing – just keep putting him back in bed. Don’t talk to him, don’t get mad at him, just keep leading him back to bed. Sometimes it takes awhile, but usually works. Just requires patience.

    This was the standard for Kelsey and me when she was little, and when I met Zack, his kids didn’t have the same discipline – they didn’t always observe bedtime at the same time, and had NO bedtime routine – and a lot of the time, the kids ended up all sleeping together. So – used the technique above, and eventually, they were all in their own beds, and they all get with the plan at bedtime – no tantrums or anything. Which is good, since they’re all 6-13 now!

  2. Brenda said,

    March 30, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    So, do tell us that the doctor’s appointment went alright. 🙂

    I know that you probably don’t care if you’re having a boy or a girl, but just last week, quite spontaneously, I said to Abby something about how she’d have a new boy cousin and that then Jeniflower would have a new baby girl. Just a hunch/premonition/intuition perhaps, but it’ll be interesting to see what happens! 🙂


Leave a Reply

