The Appointments

Well, we had two doc appointments this week. Tuesday, I went to the OB-GYN and Thursday we took Gabe to his 2-year check-up and here is the scoop:

I got another ultrasound of the new peanut. He has positioned himself precariously so it is hard to get a good picture of him, but none-the-less, it is so comforting to get any picture. He’s doing quite well, with a strong heart beat. I asked about the due date, because I forgot to ask at the last visit. The date of my last cycle says the due date is October 30th, however, the date by looking at the ultrasound says the due date is November 3rd. So, I’m going to go with 11/1/07, as the official due date on record. So, the good news is that the baby is doing well. The bad news is that my blood sugar is high. So, we are watching it closely and I started an oral medication today. I took the first pill this morning and my “after lunch” blood sugar was the lowest number since I started testing. It isn’t dangerously low, but it is well within the acceptable range…so I’m hopeful that I won’t have to do insulin again! I go back to the doc next week and look forward to providing him with wonderful reports on my blood sugar. We are at 9 weeks now and just a few more weeks and we are done with the 1st trimester. It really seems to be moving along quickly. With Gabriel, that 1st Trimester seemed to last forever. The long part of this one, is that once again, due to my history and early bleeding and cramping, the doc mandated that we abstain for the 1st Trimester. We had to abstain with Gabe too. It sucks…but we’ve got to do what we’ve got to do.

As for Gabe’s appointment, we found out that he is healthy and very big. We got there and they tried to tell us this was his 3-year check-up…Uhhh, no. Don’t rush it, he’s growing fast enough as it is. He is in the 97th percentile for both height and weight. He is just over 3 feet tall. I can’t believe it. Someone at work told me that if you measure your children’s height at age 2 and a half and double it, that will be their adult height. He thought it was a silly wive’s tale, but it worked on his 4 children…so, if that is true, Gabe is likely to be over 6 feet tall. I’m not too surprised, the men on my Dad’s side of the family are exceptionally tall…all over 6 feet. The men on my Mom’s side are fairly tall, probably all close to 6 feet. The catch, I think, is that Mike and his family are all average height or even a tad small, so I wasn’t sure how things would pan out for Gabe. It will be interesting to see if the wive’s tale works.

In other news, we are really struggling for a name. We’ve all ready got a girls name picked out from the first time around…we cannot seem to agree on a boys name. We’ve been through many of them! The kid just might end up being Gabriel v2.0 or something.

2 Comments

  1. Cris said,

    April 2, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    Gabe Jr? Gabe II?

    Glad to head all is well in babyland!

    Here’s to continued goodness!

  2. Brenda said,

    April 11, 2007 at 11:21 am

    Haven’t heard from you lately…I keep checking back for updates. 🙂 Hope all is well with you all.

    When’s Gabe starting football, eh? LOL!


Leave a Reply

