Evie's on the move

Evie has been moving like crazy and she’s dropped so much. I was anxious to get into the doc today to see how everything was. The one thing I knew was going to happen, did happen. I’m back on insulin. I’ve been taking an oral medication but it is no longer getting the job done. I’m supposed to take in a certain amount of carbs through out the day, but lately even a no-carb meal has my blood sugar up. My doc explained early on that this was likely to happen. As the placenta gets so big, the internal chemistry changes and requires intervention to function normally. I’m not too happy about that, but I do want my blood sugar to get back to normal.

As for Evie, everything looks good. She’s weighing in at about 3.9 lbs and she’s very tall. He’s mentioned that at every appointment, so I have a feeling that this kid is coming out with freakishly long legs. She’s a little bigger than the average 2 lbs as this stage. Doc thinks she might be a little early…but at this point he’s only guessing at a week or two early…but he said he’d get a better idea over the next few appointments. Her size is indicative of 29 weeks pregnant, while I’m technically only 27 weeks pregnant. We’ll see…

I asked him to double check her sex but he was unable. She’s so low that her butt is basically sitting right on my vagina and he couldn’t get the ultrasound wand to get a decent view. I’m not worried, it was clear that there was NOTHING between her legs during our last ultrasound, but I figured it wouldn’t hurt to check. It is my understanding that it is pretty clear when boy parts are visible…but can be harder to get an accurate determination if parts aren’t visible. So, I thought it wouldn’t hurt to check…but no luck.

No pictures this time…bummer!

3 Comments

  1. Michele said,

    August 3, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    :mrgreen: I knew that little one was NO WAY 2 lbs. 4 lbs and you have 2 months left!!!! 😯

  2. Brenda said,

    August 4, 2007 at 10:50 am

    I’m so glad that everything is alright! Sounds like I better get to moving on getting all these baby things together now that I’m back in town! 🙂

  3. Nana said,

    August 4, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    So glad everything is ok. Evie needs to stay put until I get her blanket done, which will probably be in 12 weeks:mrgreen:


Leave a Reply

