How can we manage?

OK…my company quite possibly has the worst health insurance on the face of this planet. After this pregnancy is done, we’ll be out $5K or more. I have no idea how we can possibly manage this. I just shelled out $200 on prescriptions and one of the prescriptions was out of stock until tomorrow. So, I’ll be out another $40 tomorrow. I could cry.

My sister-in-law suggested that we apply for Medicaid. At first, I didn’t think that we would be eligible…but she informed me that all pregnant women are eligible. Well, I haven’t done it yet and it is just because of my stupid pride. I don’t want to ask the government for assistance. I don’t know why that it is hard for me, but it is. A couple weeks ago, I decided that it was time to break down and do it. So, I found out all the documentation required and also discovered that neither Mike or I had official copies of our birth certificates…or if we have them, we don’t know where they might be. So, we’ve ordered our certificates and as soon as they are in, I’ll drag my butt to the office of Human Services and stifle my pride. It isn’t going to be easy, though.

3 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    August 28, 2007 at 12:55 am

    I’m still paying for my visit to the emergency room where they kindly told me that I just had a bad case of heartburn. If there were some way to get out of that, I would do it. All that medical stuff is way too expensive.

    I’m thinking about becoming a plumber/physician. Then I’d never worry about money.

    You should not feel guilty at all. These programs were made to be used and not abused. You are simply going to use it. We know you won’t abuse it. Y’all are good people!

  2. Brenda said,

    August 28, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    I know that it sucks when times get tough like this. Hell, I’m STILL paying for Abby’s birth. I might have it paid off by the time she’s 2! If I’d have only swallowed my pride, I might have been able to get Medicaid ~and~ WIC. They’re both worth a shot and I don’t think anyone would fault you for getting a little assistance. No one who really loves you guys anyway. And there’s a LOT of us out there! 😉

  3. Brenda said,

    August 28, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    I don’t suppose you have United Healthcare, do you? Because that’s what we switched to and I’m so frustrated with them already….UGH!


Leave a Reply

