20 Things that Change When You Have a Baby

I received this in an e-mail today and I can truly relate to so many of them.

1. You finally stop to smell the roses, because your baby is in your arms.

2. Where you once believed you were fearless, you now find yourself afraid.

3. The sacrifices you thought you made to have a child no longer seem like sacrifices.

4. You respect your body … finally.

5. You respect your parents and love them in a new way.

6. You find that your baby’s pain feels much worse than your own.

7. You believe once again in the things you believed in as a child.

8. You lose touch with the people in your life whom you should have banished years ago.

9. Your heart breaks much more easily.

10. You think of someone else 234,836,178,976 times a day.

11. Every day is a surprise.

12. Bodily functions are no longer repulsive. In fact, they please you. (Hooray for poop!)

13. You look at your baby in the mirror instead of yourself.

14. You become a morning person.

15. Your love becomes limitless, a superhuman power.

16. You don’t mind going to bed at 9 p.m. on Friday night.

17. You give parents with a screaming child an ‘I-know-the-feeling’ look instead of a ‘Can’t-they-shut-him-up?’ one.

18. Your dog/cat — who used to be your ‘baby’ — becomes just a dog/cat.

19. You take the time for one more hug and kiss even if it means you’ll be late.

20. You learn that taking a shower is a luxury.

“You find that your baby’s pain feels much worse than your own.”
Oh my gosh, this is so true. Evie got her 2 month immunizations yesterday and her legs were so sore last night. It broke my heart

“Your heart breaks much more easily”
Especially when I see news about injured children (or worse).

“Bodily functions are no longer repulsive. In fact, they please you. (Hooray for poop!)”
I realize this seems truly bizarre to my non-parent friends…but poop is a great thing. With Evie we are excited for every poopy diaper because she battles with constipation. As for Gabey, he likes to stare at his poop and everything we’ve read on potty training says we should encourage that.

“You respect your parents and love them in a new way.”
While this started to happen in my 20’s…it has really changed now. My parents were so young when they had me, I truly can’t imagine.

“You become a morning person.”
This is sort of true. I don’t think I’ll ever BE a morning person, but there was a time when you didn’t want to be near me, let alone talk to me in the morning. I would bite your head off without even realizing that I was doing it. When Gabey was a baby he typically got up between 3 or 4 AM. Now he gets up by 6 AM most mornings. I never bite his head off and I’m always happy to see him. I like to hear his voice and look forward to cuddling with him each morning. But to be totally honest, I’d give ANYTHING to sleep in sometimes. Mike has offered to let me sleep in…but he all ready gets too little sleep. Once the kids are older though, I’m totally going to sleep in!

“You give parents with a screaming child an ‘I-know-the-feeling’ look instead of a ‘Can’t-they-shut-him-up?’ one.”
I don’t think I ever gave parents a “shut-em-up” look…but I know I’ve thought it. I understand so much more now. Gabey is a great little boy. He’s pretty well behaved, in my opinion…but he’s still 2 years old and that means tantrums and crying fits and loudness.

“Your dog/cat — who used to be your ‘baby’ — becomes just a dog/cat.”
I hate to admit this but it is true. Even my much missed Taz-Cee girl had to take a back seat to Gabe. This is mostly due to the fact that one requires more attention…the other just demanded it. There is a part of me that wishes she passed before we had children. That way she still could have been the baby for the last year of her life.

“You learn that taking a shower is a luxury.”
This couldn’t be more true. It is so hard to take a shower and when I don’t wait until Mike is up or the kids are asleep, I get 10 minutes max. That is enough time to get the job done…but no time to just enjoy the hot water and relax…or shave!

I’m so glad that so much has changed. I’ve been blessed with two angels and I wouldn’t change it for the world!

1 Comment

  1. Michele said,

    November 27, 2007 at 11:02 am

    😥 Very cool Jen!


Leave a Reply

