The Faces of the Fallen

A great tragedy occurred in Omaha yesterday. A senseless act of violence that has and will continue to effect so many innocent people. I’ve watched an abundance of news coverage since yesterday. I’ve seen the killer’s face countless times now. I can’t get it out of my head and I want to since this is exactly what he wanted. He wanted to “go out in style.” He wanted his name and face to be known.

I think it is more important that we know the names and the faces of the victims. I pray for their families during what will be a very sad and difficult holiday and probably the first of many sad holidays to follow. It would be hard to ever think of Christmas shopping and the joys of Christmas without being able to think of the loved ones lost.

I stumbled across this blog and I’m thankful that someone is giving those who have left this world under tragic circumstances a face. Remember their faces and try to forget Mr. Hawkins. He doesn’t deserve this fame, regardless of how troubled or tragic his life may have been.

2 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    December 10, 2007 at 3:08 am

    Exactly. Every time I hear a news report or read yet another article about it that invariably shows his picture or mentions his name, I scream “STOP THIS! YOU’RE GIVING HIM WHAT HE WANTS!” Of course now the report is that his note does not mention the words “going out in style” at all, but does mention that he’ll be “f-in’ famous”.

    Also, was it really necessary to reveal where he was fired from? I mean I hope people don’t boycot that place just because they fired him and the reports indicate that may have been a contributing factor to his meltdown.

    GAH!

  2. Michele said,

    December 10, 2007 at 8:43 am

    It’s just so sad. I don’t think there are really any word or emotions to sum this up. I hope those poor families are walking beside God for strength right now. đŸ˜¦


Leave a Reply

